Thursday, March 30, 2017
Text Size


Seymour July 12 – There is a test and tune scheduled for tonight at Seymour Raceway Park, and is open to anyone wishing to work on their cars or just get seat time.


Pit will open at 4:30.   There as a 15.00 pit fee for anyone entering the pit.


Track will be open from  5 – 8 PM


Grandstand will be open free for anyone wanting to watch.






Seymour, July 10 – A 40 minute, mid afternoon shower, hit SRP at 2:30, and soaked the already watered 1/3 mile clay oval.     Decision was made to move forward with the evenings racing program, and with the help of the 102 race teams , the track was ready to go with the program starting just over an hour later than normal.    

Drivers handled the very tacky track and the very patient fans saw a very competitive racing program Sunday night.


The Street Stock division took the first feature slot with Craig Vandewetering grabbing the top spot followed by Eric Derks, Matt Warner, Matt Prouty, Dylan Stedjee and Clint Evans.    A couple cautions appeared on lap 5, with Vandewettering still in command.   The field was bunched behind with Derks and Warner still in the lead pack.  Point leader, Jeff Jungwirth moved into fourth after the restart.   A final caution on lap 11 saw Derks drop out of the contest before the restart giving Warner the runner up spot.  Jungwirth, Evans, Stedjee and Paul Ambrosius were tight behind for the final dash to the checker.   Junngwirth pulled into the second spot on the restart and right up on the leader.    Vandewetering was able to hold off the solid charge to collect his first career feature win.   Jungwirth settled for second with Warner claiming the third spot.  Stedjee, Mike Carter and Ambrosius rounded out the top six.


The visiting Grand National Stock Cars were up next with Kenny Richards jumping from the pole to the lead at the start with Brian Cesar, Larry Richards, Tim Simon and Jeff Richards dropping in behind.   A lone caution appeared on lap 9,  and Larry Richards moved into the runner up spot on the restart.  Son, Kenny took off again and was never really challenged the rest of the way, leaving the challenge for the runner up spot.    Jeff Richards was able to take the runner up spot away from Larry with three laps left and the Richards race team swept the top three spots at the finish line. Matt Yancey, Cesar and Kevin Lubach rounded out the top six.


The IMCA Sport Mods put a strong field of 24 cars in the main event with Jordan Bartz coming from the second row to lead the opening lap followed by Colten Van Hierden, Ron Besaw, Kevin Bethke, and Chris Budzban.   A spin slowed the pace on lap 2 with Lucas Lamberies quickly moving into the runner up spot on the restart.   Bartz held off the challenge until Lamberies was able to take over the lead on lap 7.   A series of cautions on lap 9, kept the field bunched with Lamberies trailed by Van Hierden, Travis Hansen, Bartz, Hunter Parsons and Dan Melton.    Lamberies was able to hold off the tough challenge from behind to claim his second feature win of the season.   Van Hierden took second with Hansen in third.    Bartz took the strong forth place finish with Parsons and Travis Arenz rounding out the top six.


The Coors Light IMCA Stock Cars had a bonus field of 34 entries with 22 starting the main event.   Jerry Winkler put his car in the top spot after the opening lap and was opening a lead early as the field sorted out behind.  Trent Nolan  secured second with Jerry Leary,  Dan Nelson,  Rod Snellenbeger and Larry Karcz, Jr behind.   BY lap 7, Winkler was out front with Nolan in a tight battle with Snellenberger,  Karcz, Kyle Frederick and Leary.

A lap 9 caution erased Winklers lead and  bunched the field.   Snellenbeger  moved into the runner up spot after the restart with Nolan,  Frederick, Karcz and Travis Van Straten  right behind.    A couple late race cautions kept the field tight.   Over the final 2 laps, Snellenberger was making a charge to the inside with Karcz and Frederick side by side right behind.  The four ran under a blanket, side by side out of the final turn.   Winkle was able to take the checkered flag by inches at the line for his first career division feature win.   Snellenberger took second with Frederick and Karcz next in the final standings.    Nolan took fifth with Phil Hiles  rounding out the top six.


A Street Stock/Grand National Grudge race was the final event with Jeff Richards earning the trophy and bragging rights.


The Vintage Milwaukee Stock Car Racing Association will join the regular program next Sunday night, July 17.  The cars will be on display behind the grandstand in the afternoon and run a full program in the evening..


Track officials would like to express their gratitude for the co-operation of the drivers, with the track crew, to get the track ready to race and the fans for their patience during the process.



                                    COORS LIGHT IMCA STOCK CARS

 14 Lap Feature  Jerry Winkler, Oshkosh   2. Rod Snellenberger, Pulaksi  3. Kyle Frederick, Oconto   4. Larry Karcz, Jr, Pulaski   5. Trent Nolan,  6. Phil Hiles, Appleton

9 Lap Consy  First  l. John Adams   2. Brandon Gagnon, Oconto   3. Jamie Van Ooyen, Appleton

Second  l. Dylan Heilmann, Green bay  2. Jamie Suchocki, Shawano  3. Travis Springstroh, Freedom

8 Lap Heats  First  l. Bob Czarapata, Krakow  2. Travis Van Straten, Hortonville

Second  l. Winkler   2.Dan Nelson

Third  l. Jerry Leary, Green Bay  2. Chas Van Ooyen, Freedom

Fourth  l. Nolan   2. Karcz, Jr


                                    IMCA SPORT MODS

14 Lap Feature  l. Lucas Lamberies, Clintonville  2. Coleten Van Hierden, Oshkosh  3. Travis Hansen   4. Jordan Bartz, Shawano   5. Hunter Parsons, Green Bay    6. Travis Arenz, Sheboygan

8 Lap Heats  First  l. Hansen   2. Scott Besaw, Omro

Second  l. Ron Besaw, Omro  2. Kevin Bethke, Neenah

Third  l. Van Hierden   2. Arenz


                                                STREET STOCKS

14 Lap Feature  l. Craig Vandewettering   2. Jeff Jungwirth, Oshkosh  3. Matt Warner   4. Dylan Stedjee, Shawano  5. Clint Evans, Hortonville   6. Mike Carter

10 Lap Consy  l. Patty Winkler, Larson  2. Ryan Manthei, Green Bay   3. Allan Schluetter, Oconto

8 Lap Heats  First  l. Stedjee   2. Carter

Second  l. Harley Diedrick, Freedom  2. Vandewettering

Third  l. Jungwirth   2. Evans


                                                GRAND NATIONAL STOCK CARS

20 Lap Feature  l. Kenny Richards, Montello   2. Jeff Richards, Montello    3. Larry Richards, Montello   4./Matt Yancey   5. Brian Cesar   6. Kevin Lubach

8 Lap Heats  First  l. Kenny Richards   2. Larry Richards

Second  l. Yancey   2. Johnathon Otte


Page 7 of 81

Login Form