Monday, March 27, 2017
Text Size

Badger Midgets and Micro 600 join SRP Sunday night

 Badger Midgets & Micros at Seymour Sunday
                    “Challenge in the Northwoods” first at track since 1974

By Bryan Gapinski
Seymour, Wis., June 20---For the first time in over forty-years midget auto racing returns to Seymour Raceway Park on Sunday Night June 26. The Mid-State Equipment /Zimbrick Chevrolet of Sun Prairie Badger Midget Racing Series invade the 1/3/ mile banked clay oval for the “Challenge in the Northwoods”.
       This season marks the 80th year of sanctioning midget auto racing for the organization, oldest in the country. Brandon Waelti winner of the most recent feature on June 19 at Angell Park Speedway is atop the series point standings heading into the event.
       The 600 micros are also on the evening’s events and will feature a co-sanctioned event by the POWRi North Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro Series presented by Cab Construction & Badger 600 Micro Series presented by My Race Pass. Norm Ehrke aims for his third straight feature victory.
        Badger sanctioned an event at Seymour on Saturday afternoon July 20, 1974 when the track was a half-mile in length. Kevin Olson won the feature finishing ahead of fast qualifier Bob Walldan, Jim Hill, Jim Clement and Bill Ripp. It also marked the first career Badger feature win of Olson’s Hall of Fame career.
        The two open wheel divisions join the tracks regular Sunday Night divisions: Street Stocks, IMCA Sport Mods, and Coors Light IMCA Stock Cars. Pits open at 3 p.m. with grandstands at 4 p.m. and racing begins at 6 p.m. Seymour Raceway Park is located on the Outagamie County Fairgrounds at 637 N. Main Street, in Seymour.


Van Ooyen, Andersen and Schmidt all first time winners Sunday night at SRP


Seymour, June 19- For the second straight week, a beautiful day greeted drivers and fans at Seymour Raceway Park Sunday night.

GSR Racing Supplies sponsored the racing action as well as the Kids Club Bike Giveaway.

The Street Stock division opened the feature portion of the program with David Schmidt taking the lead at the start and immediately open a lead on the field.   Eric Derks, Clint Evans, Craig Vandewettering and Dylan Stejee were bunched behind.   Ashcraft hooked up outside and started to move to the front, moving into the runner up spot on lap 7, but Schmidt had built a sizable lead on the field.   A caution on lap 11 erased Schmidt’s advantage and bunched the field behind.   Ashcraft was in second with Jeff Jungwirth up into third. Evans, Allan Schluetter and Paul Ambrosius were behind.

Schmidt again took off on the restart with Ashcraft and Jungwirth running side by side for second.   A final restart three laps later again saw Schmidt take off while the second place battle  remained side by side  before Jungwirth was a finally able to take over second with three laps left.   Schmidt was able to run to his first ever SRP feature win with Jungirth and Ashcraft next in line.   Matt Warner won a tight battle for fourth with Schluetter and Ambrosius rounding out the top six.


The IMCA Sport Mods saw Jessi Ness grab the lead at the start and lead through  a pair of early race cautions.   On the final restart on lap 8, Scott Besaw was able to wrestle the top spot away with Kevin Bethke, Colten Van Hierden, J.J. Andersen and Lucas Lamberies all in line by lap 10.  Van Hierden hooked up on the outside and ran side by side with Besaw and was scored as the leader for a couple laps before dropping off the pace a bit, allowing Besaw to reclaim the top spot on lap 14.   Andersen moved into second and was the next challenger, and on lap 20, pulled into the top spot and led the final 5 laps to claim his first SRP feature win.    Besaw ran to his best finish here taking second.   Travis Arenz made a late race charge to secure third.   Bethke  finished in the top 4 with Chris Budzban and Lamberies rounding out the top six.

The Coors Light IMCA Stock Cars brought the final feature of the night to the track with pole sitter, Brandon Gagnon setting the pace early with Trent Nolan  moving into the top spot on lap 3.   The pack stayed tight and Travis Springstroh  moved up to challenge and took the lead on lap 10.     Travis Van Straten, Chas Van Ooyen, Bob Czarapata and Kyle Frederick were moving up through traffic.    There were several cautions in the first half of the rave, but the final restart came a lap 15 and the last half of the race went to the finish.  Van Ooyen and Frederick challenged Springstroh after the restart and Van Ooyen  made the move to the inside to take charge on lap lap 16.   Frederick followed into second one lap later and the pair took off from the field.   By the time Van Straten took third , the leaders had a several car length advantage.   With clear track, Van Straten quickly closed the gap and for the final 6 laps, it was a three car dog fight for the win.   Van Ooyen was able to hold off the challengers and take the victory with Van Straten making a final lap run to the outside of Frederick to steal the runner up spot away at the finish line.   Springstroh finished fourth with Dylan Heilmann and Jeremy Wiitala rounding out the top six.


Next Sunday, the Badger Midgets and Micro 600 sprints will join the three regular divisions on Sunday night.

Then on Sunday July 3, the Budweiser Holiday Classic will take place and feature the only visit for the IRA Sprint Cars  for 2016 when they bring in their 50th Anniversary tour to SRP.   The IMCA Modifieds make their first appearance of the season after the Memorial Day program was rain out.     The IMCA Sport Mods will be the third division on the 3rd.






                                    COORS LIGHT IMCA STOCK CARS

30 Lap Feature  l. Chas Van Ooyen, Freedom   2. Travis Van Straten, Hortonville,  3, Kyle Frederick. Oconto   4. Travis Springstroh, Freedom  5. Dylan Heilmann, Green Bay   6. Jeremy Wiitala, Green Bay

8 Lap Consy  First  l.  Chris Lowenhagen, Kaukauna   2. Phil Hiles

Second  l. Kevin Hebbe,    2. Chase Parker

8 Lap Heats  First  l. Brandon Gagnon  2. Dan Nelson

Second  l. Rod Snellenberger   2. Springstroh 

Third  l. Trent Nolan   2. Bob Czarapata


                                                IMCA SPORT MODS

25 Lap Feature  l. J.J. Andersen, Green Bay  2. Scott Besaw, Omro  3. Travis Arenz, Sheboygan   4. Kevin Bethke, Neenah   5. Chris Budzban, Luxemburg   6. Lucas Lamberies, Clintonville

8 Lap Heats  First  l. Lamberies   2. Bethke

Second  l. Andrew Meyerhofer   2. Colten Van Hierden


                                                            STREET STOCKS

20 Lap Feature  l.  David Schmidt, Casco  2. Jeff Jungwirth, Oshkosh  3. Lexii Ashcraft, Oshkosh   4. Matt Warner,    5. Allan Schluter, Oconto   6. Paul Ambrosius, Seymour

8 Lap Heats  First  l. Clint Evans, Fremont   2. Harley Diedrick, Freedom

Second  l. Craig Vandewettering   2. Jungwirth

Third  l. Schmidt   2. Ambrosius


Page 11 of 81

Login Form