Saturday, March 25, 2017
Text Size


By Edward Anschutz

(Seymour, WI) May 19, 2013 Results- Jay Matthias made a late trip to Seymour Super Speedway a successful one charging from row 6 winning the feature in the IMCA Modifieds. Other feature winners were John Heinz (IMCA Stock Car), Brett Swedberg (Fastrak Late Model) Tracy Wassenberg (IMCA Sport Mod), John Ashcraft (Street Stock) and Brian Johnson (Sport Four). Next Sunday May 26 will feature WDLMA Late Models with the first installment of the three Summer Holiday Classics. Action kicks off at 5PM.

In the Spectator Eliminator Rob Krull took a very wild ride en route to victory which ended with his cherry 1985 Chevy Monte Carlo getting T-Boned. Well it was cherry, Krull lost the handle in turn 3 this left Beau Schroeder with no where to go in his 1970 Monte Carlo slamming head on into the passenger door of Krull to shriek of the crowd. Krull beat Ben Rotter in the final race to take the overall win. Jordan Lesser and “The Land Shark” Jeff Schroeder also competed in the event. 

Photos courtesy of Dan Lewis Photography


Troy Jerovetz took the top spot at the drop of green in the IMCA Modified main, he and Jerry Wilinski quickly distanced themselves from the pack. The track was very racy as drivers went three and four wide through the field. Matthias and defending champion Jason Czarapata caught Jerovetz just before lap 10. As the cross flags flew Matthias made his move down low motoring by Jerovetz for the lead. Matthias pulled away from the field picking up the win after starting 12th on the grid. Jerovetz scored a season best second, Czarapata third, Wilinski was fourth and Brian Mullen fifth. What made the win even sweeter for Matthias was the chassis he drove to victory lane was built by himself, friends and crew members this off season.

JJ Heinz handily bested a solid field of IMCA Stock Cars en route to victory.

Eric Malfroid paced the first 4 caution filled laps before Heinz marched from row 5 to the lead on lap 5. Another caution flew sending Jeremy Wiitala to pit lane with a flat tire. Bill Kelsey had a solid run going when his machine slowed and rolled to the infield. Heinz had the field covered pulling away on every restart. Shawn Wagner placed second, Wiitala marched through the pack fighting back to third, Harley Simon was fourth and Rod Snellenberger rallied to fifth after starting 20th.

Tracy Wassenberg charged from row 4 taking the lead away on lap 3 from Robby Thiel. Wassenburg set sail leaving the battle far behind. Wyatt Block had a good night go bad losing the handle on his machine collecting last weeks feature winner Jeremy Cota. Cota was forced to pit lane where he went a lap down with a flat tire and body damage, Block’s night was over. Wassenburg stayed hooked up 3-wheeling his machine all the way to victory lane. Thiel had a career Seymour best second, Rob Charapata  third, JJ Anderson fourth and Cody Hokenstad battled back to fifth after a trip down pit lane. 
John Ashcraft passed Allan Schlueter on lap 2 for the top spot. Last weeks winner Jerry Kope charged from row 4 and began to chop away at Ashcraft’s lead. A caution with a handful of laps remaining put Kope, Jerry Winkler and Jeff Jungwirth directly on the back bumper of Ashcraft. As the green flag flew Winkler blew a right front tire ending his bid for the win. Kope’s racer was next to suffer problems as smoke billowed out from under the car resulting in a mechanical black flag. On the final lap Jungwirth also had a tire go down ending his solid run. When the dust settled it was Ashcraft cruising to victory, Joe Schwister scored a solid second in his first showing of the season, pole sitter Derek Lecker third, Mert Summers placed fourth after starting in row 7 and Lexii Ashcraft rounded out the top five.

Brett Swedberg wasted no time wrestling the lead away from Derek Janke on the opening lap. Swedberg never looked back leading every lap sweeping action in the topless Fastrak Late Model feature. Jeff Curtin charged into second but wasn’t able to cut into Swedberg’s lead. Third for Jeff Wickersheim, Derek Janke and Wayne Block completed the top five. 

Brian Johnson scored a clean sweep in the Sport Fours, his second feature win in a row. Defending champion Calvin Stueck suffered mechanical issues after leading early sending him pit side. Cody Hungerford finished second, Taylor Becha, Carl King and Brandon Petri were your top five finishers.   

Seymour Super Speedway’s GPS address is; 637 North Main St. Seymour, WI 54165. Racing in the six divisions that include IMCA Modified, Fastrak Late Model, IMCA Stock Car, IMCA Northern Sport Mod, Street Stock and the Sport Fours in action every Sunday night. Racing starts at 5:00 P.M. for all of May. Social media you can follow Seymour on Twitter and like us on Facebook. For more information, please visit the track’s website at 


20 LAP BUDWEISER IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE: 1. Jay Matthias, De Pere; 2. Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay; 3. Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; 4. Jerry Wilinski, Seymour; 5. Brian Mullen, Seymour

HEAT 1: Wilinski; Jerovetz
HEAT 2: Mike Wedelstadt, New London; Kyle Kudick, Two Rivers
HEAT 3: Mark Joski, New Franken;  Marcus Yarie, Wausau
LAST CHANCE  QUALIFIER 1: Jamie Schmidt, Seymour; Chad Bartel, Shiocton

20 LAP COORS LIGHT IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE: 1. JJ Heinz, Green Bay; 2. Shawn, Seymour; 3. Jeremy Wiitala, Green Bay; 4. Harley Simon, Seymour; 5. Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski

HEAT 1: Tom Riehl, Hortonville; Jason Bork, Appleton
HEAT 2: Simon; Heinz
HEAT 3: Chas Van Ooyen, Appleton; Justin Jacobsen, Hortonville
LAST CHANCE  QUALIFIER 1:Barry Van Straten, Shiocton; Devin Snellenberger, Pulaski

15 LAP FASTRAK LATE MODEL FEATURE: 1. Brett Swedberg, Shawano; 2. Jeff Curtin, Shawano; 3. Jeff Wickersheim, White Lake; 4. Derek Janke, New London; 5. Wayne Block, Marion

HEAT 1: Swedberg; D. Janke

20 LAP IMCA SPORT MOD FEATURE: 1. Tracy Wassenberg, Shawano; 2. Robby Thiel, Appleton; 3. Rob Charapata, Oconto; 4. JJ Anderson, Pulaski; 5. Cody Hokenstad, Shawano

HEAT 1: Jeremy Cota, Oconto; Wyatt Block, Marion
HEAT 2: Thiel; Hokenstad

20 LAP STREET STOCK FEATURE: 1. John Ashcraft, Oshkosh; 2. Joe Schwister, Seymour; 3.Derek Lecker, Black Creek; 4. Mert Summers, Wrightstown; 5. Lexii Ashcraft, Oshkosh

HEAT 1: Allan Schlueter, Oconto; L. Ashcraft
HEAT 2: Lecker; Jerry Kope, Oshkosh

15 LAP 4 CYLINDER FEATURE: 1. Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls; 2. Tyler Hungerford, Freedom; 3. Taylor Becha, Seymour; 4. Carl King, Appleton; 5. Brandon Petri, Seymour

HEAT 1: Johnson; Calvin Stueck, Clintonville

SPECTATOR ELIMINATOR: 1. Rob Krull, 85’ Chevy Monte Carlo; 2. Ben Rotter, 93’ Chevy Lumina; 3. Beau Schroeder, 70’ Chevy Monte Carlo; 4. Jeff Schroeder, 65’ Oldsmobile 442 5. Jordan Lessor, 70’ Buick Skylark

Login Form