Monday, March 27, 2017
Text Size

LaCrosse leads the way in Seymour IMCA Mod Main


Click to see race-day image gallery

Defending track champion Benji LaCrosse of Luxemburg passed New London’s Mike Wedelstadt for the lead on lap 12 and survived late race pressure from Seymour’s Jerry Wilinski to capture the 25 lap IMCA modified feature race at Seymour Speedway Sunday night.

A total of 147 cars signed in including 28 IMCA modifieds, 38 stock cars and 29 northern sportmods, 27 street stocks and 25 4 cylinders.

Wilinski grabbed the early lead and quickly built up a sizeable cushion over the rest of the field. Wedelstadt broke through traffic and caught the leader on lap eight and began trading the lead with the hometown driver.

LaCrosse, who started 12th, began picking his way through the field and caught the leaders with Russ Reinwald of Horicon and the quartet battled for the lead by lap 10. The battle was temporarily halted on lap 16 when the caution flew when Wausau’s Marcus Yarie and New Franken’s Shawn Kilgore tangled on the frontstretch, drawing a yellow and setting up a four lap shootout to the finish. LaCrosse kept all challengers at bay for the win. Wilinski settled for second, followed by Seymour’s Brian Mullen, Wedelstadt and Reinwald.

Gillett’s Kyle Frederick fought off Hortonville’s Justin Jacobson in the final laps and hung on to win the 20 lap IMCA stock car feature. Rookie Jeremy Wiitala took third in his best finish of the year, followed by Bowler’s Greg Gutt and Pulaski’s Rod Snellenberger, who’s machine slowed with five laps remaining after leading.

Oconto Falls’ Eric Arneson passed Seymour’s Mary Van De Hei for the lead on lap eight and survived several caution periods and a late race surge by Green Bay’s Troy Jerovetz to win the 20 lap IMCA northern sportmod feature. Jerovetz settled for second followed by Oconto’s Jeremy Cota in his strongest finish of the year in third, followed by Black Creek’s Chad Guyette and Green Bay’s Josh Long.

Kaukauna’s Matt Drawenek passed Josh Novak of Appleton for the lead with three laps remaining to capture the win in the wild, 20 lap street stock feature.

Krakow’s Bob Czarapata took the lead from his front row starting spot at the drop of the green, with Kaukauna’s Danny Gracyalny slowly working his way through the pack from 10th. Gracyalny took the lead by lap 12 with Todd Everard of Green Bay fighting through the field to take second, glued to Gracyalny’s bumper. The pair made contact on lap 13, with Everard cutting a tire and bouncing off the wall in turn two. Gracyalny was black flagged while Everard was forced to pit.

Drawenek passed leader Josh Novak on lap 17 and collected the feature win. Novak took second, followed by Derek Lecker, Andy Paluck and Dave Hoerning. Everard battled back after the caution to finish sixth.

Ralph Liegios Jr.won the 4 banger feature.

During the third IMCA stock car heat Kyle Schroeder of Appleton barrel rolled three times on the front stretch. Schroeder was unhurt but his machine needed a pair of wreckers to remove the car from the track.

Next Sunday night Calles Transport II of Green Bay will sponsor the races, which begin at 6 p.m.



IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE - Julie Wedelstadt, New London; Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay; Mike Mullen, Seymour; Russ Reinwald, Horicon

HEATS 1) Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico; Matt Maleport, DePere 2) Wedelstadt; Scott Mullen, Seymour 3) LaCrosse; Reinwald


IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE - Shawn Wagner,Seymour; Kyle Frederick, Gillett; Jeremy Christians Horicon; Devin Snellenberger, Pulaski; Jeremy Wiitala, Green Bay

12 LAP SEMI FEATURES 1) Jamie Becks, Green Bay; Mitchell Stankowski, Wausau; 2) Frederick; Greg Gutt, Tigerton

10 LAP HEATS 1) Jon Wolf, Green Bay; Paul White, Green Bay 2) Kyle Wanner, Suamico; Barry VanStraten, Shiocton 3) Wagner; Harley Simon, Seymour 4) Christians; Gilson


IMCA NORTHERN SPORTMOD FEATURE - Troy Jerovetz,Green Bay; Brad Theys, Kewaunee; Johnny Whitman, DePere; Rod Solem, Seymour; Travis VanStraten, Hortonville

SEMI FEATURES 1) Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls; Jeremy Cota, Oconto

HEATS 1) Brandon Long, Green Bay; Eric Mahlik, Green Bay 2) Whitman; VanStraten 3) Solem;Theys


STREET STOCK FEATURE - Todd Everard, Green Bay; Jon Shultz, Waunakee; Matt Drawenek, Kaukauna; Joe Schwister, Black Creek; Derek Lecker, Black Creek

12 LAP SEMI FEATURE - Schwister; Lecker

HEATS 1) Shultz; Everard 2) Aaron Melchert, Seymour; Andy Paluch, Pulaski 3) Mert Summers, DePere; Phil Hiles, Appleton


4 BANGER FEATURE - Jason Cornelius, Oneida; Sam Ambrosius, Pulaski; Calvin Stueck, New London; Josh Mroczkowski, Pulaski; Ralph Legois Jr., Oconto; Dean DeKeyser, Pulaski


HEATS 1) Corneilus; Dekeyser 2) Ambrosius; Jon Duesing, Sobeski 3) Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls; Mroczkowski

Login Form