Thursday, March 23, 2017
Text Size

LaCrosse, Anderson and Schwister Reign Over Competition

Benji LaCrosse scored a dominating win in the IMCA Modifieds at Seymour Super Speedway. Other feature winners were Brandon Czarapata (IMCA Stock Car), JJ Anderson (IMCA Sport Mod), Joe Schwister (Street Stock) and Evan Beattie (Four-Cylinders)

It only took 1 lap for Benji LaCrosse to work from row 3 around pole sitter David Hoerning and to the lead in the IMCA Modified main event. LaCrosse quickly distanced himself from the rest of the field and left the battle for the runner up position. Midway through the contest Jay Matthias worked from row 5 and passed Hoerning for the second spot. Matthias did all he could to try and chase down LaCrosse but it wasn’t enough and LaCrosse dominated the caution free event. It was LaCrosse’s first feature win of the season. Second for Matthias, Randy Markwardt Jr. placed a solid third, Rookie Eric Arneson was fourth and David Hoerning placed a season best fifth. Point leader Jason Czarapata suffer mechanical issues and didn’t finish the feature.

Joe Schwister scored his first feature win of the season in the Street Stocks.

Photos courtesy of Dan Lewis Photography

Pole sitter Derek Lecker powered to lead and began to pull away from the field but a caution on lap 5 put the competition on his rear bumper. Again the green flew and Lecker took off opening up a sizable advantage. Rookie Dan Juszcyk fresh off a heat race win hung a solid second trying to chase down Lecker. Lecker showed he was the class of the field but a caution on lap 12 again slowed the field. Under caution Lecker suffered a flat right rear tire, sending the leader to pit lane handing the lead over to Joe Schwister who had snuck past Juszcyk for second. Schwister flexed his muscle and pulled away holding the top spot. Lecker returned to the track laps down and his night then went from bad to worse and his engine expired putting oil on the track which sent Joe Brenner into the wall ending his solid night on the wrecker.

This set up a 2 lap dash to the finish and it was Schwister holding off Tony Everard for the lead, winning his first feature of the season. Everard crossed the line second after starting in row 7 but Mert Summers pulled in the claim area and Everard was claimed. Everard denied the claim thus forfeiting second place money and points to Dan Juszcyk, Lexxi Ashcraft scored a season best third with Ryan Blank taking home fourth and Mert Summers fifth.

Street Stock point leader Gary Kasperek was a no show as he took his Wissota Street Stock to run with the Dakota Touring Series. This hands the point lead over to Aaron Melchert.

JJ Anderson led every lap en rout to his first feature win of the season in the IMCA Sport Mods.

JJ Anderson got the jump on Tyler Wilson on the opening lap taking the lead in the IMCA Sport Mod feature. Midway through the contest Anderson had almost a quarter track lead, but that amount shrank and Jeremy Cota found his groove and chased down Anderson. Cota looked several times underneath Anderson but never was able to get by Anderson who scored his first win of the season in the caution free event. Cota placed second keeping the points battle tight, Josh Long was third, point leader Brad Lautenbach fourth and Jason Guyette was fifth.

Brandon Czarapata scored his 8th feature win the IMCA Stock Cars.

A wild first lap saw a battle 4 wide for the lead in the IMCA Stock Car main event. Bill Kelsey was the one to make the best move working to the lead. His reign up front didn’t last long as Brandon Czarapata used the very racy surface to his advantage working around Kelsey on lap 4. Czarapata powered away from the competition scoring the win. Shawn Wagner was involved in an opening lap wreck which sent his machine to the pits allowing Czarapata to open up his point lead. Brian Ambrosius scored a solid second, Bill Kelsey third, Barry VanStraten placed fourth after starting in row 6 and Mitch Stankoski rounded out the top five.

Evan Beattie started deep in the field and passed Trent Nolan with 9 laps remaining to score his first career feature win in the Four Cylinders. Nolan had to settle for second, despite having engine issue Calvin Stueck padded his point lead with a third place finish, Jeff Behm fourth and Tyler Hungerford fifth.

Swinkles Trucking and Excavating of Freedom will play host July 15 at Seymour Super Speedway.



20 LAP BUDWEISER IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE: 1. Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay; 2. Jay Matthias, De Pere; 3. Randy Markwardt Jr., Sheboygan Falls; 4. Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls; 5. David Hoerning, Appleton

HEAT 1: LaCrosse; Jason Czarapata, Pulaski
HEAT 2: Jeremy Hanson, Green Bay; Hoerning

20 LAP IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE: 1. Brandon Czarapata, Waupun; 2. Brian Ambrosius, Pulaski; 3. Bill Kelsey, Luxemburg; 4. Barry VanStraten, Shiocton; 5. Mitch Stankoski, Wausau

HEAT 1: Justin Jacobson, Hortonville; Shawn Wagner, Seymour
HEAT 2: Czarapata; Trevor Howard, Kaukauna

20 LAP IMCA SPORT MOD FEATURE: 1. JJ Anderson, Pulaski; 2. Jeremy Cota, Oconto; 3. Josh Long, Green Bay; 4. Brad Lautenbach, New Franken; 5. Jason Guyette, Black Creek

HEAT 1: Tyler Wilson, Sobieski; Lautenbach
HEAT 2: Anderson; Kurt Mueller, Seymour

20 LAP STREET STOCK FEATURE: 1. Joe Schwister, Seymour; 2. Dan Juszcyk, Sobieski; 3. Lexxi Ashcraft, Oshkosh; 4. Ryan Blank, Greenville; 5. Mert Summers, Wrightstown

HEAT 1: Derek Lecker, Black Creek; Jon Ashcraft, Oshkosh
HEAT 2: Juszcyk; Schwister

15 LAP 4 CYLINDER FEATURE: 1.Evan Beattie, Little Chute; 2. Trent Nolan, Shawano; 3. Calvin Stueck, Clintonville; 4. Jeff Behm, Clintonville; 5. Tyler Hungerford, Freedom

HEAT 1: Nolan; Scott Johnson, Green Bay
HEAT 2: Behm; Carl King, Appleton

Login Form