Tuesday, March 28, 2017
Text Size

Jason Czarapata Caps off Championship at Seymour Speedway

(Seymour, WI) - A seventh win in the IMCA Modified division has netted Jason Czarapata to his first Seymour Super Speedway IMCA Modified Championship. Other winners included Brandon Czarapata (IMCA Stockcars) Jeremy Cota (IMCA Sportmods) Derek Lecker (Street Stocks) and Calvin Stueck (4 Cylinders).

Tony Wedelstadt jumped out in front of the IMCA Modified feature and looked to be the man in charge. Wedelstadt ran up on top of the track with Kyle Kudick and Jason Czarapata right behind. Wedelstadt would continue to lead until 7 laps to go when he spun in front of the field bringing out the caution flag. Kudick would be next as leader and would spin in the same corner on the very next lap to bring out a yellow. Czarapata inherited the lead and pulled away late to pick up the win. Czarapata has a 107 point lead with 2 nights remaining in the IMCA Modified point chase. He has seven wins on the season and is the 2012 IMCA Modified champ. Czarapata was trailed at the checkers by Dave Hoerning, Eric Arneson and Marcus Yarie.

Josh Mroczkowski jumped out in front and pulled away in the early stages of the IMCA Stockcar feature. Brandon Czarapata and Shawn Wagner weaved in and out and found their ways to second and third. Czarapata and Wagner would run the top of the track and get to the back bumper of the leader when the caution came out with 8 laps remaining. Czarapata blew past Mroczkowski and cruised to his 9th straight feature win and 11th of the year. Wagner won a last lap battle with Devon Snellenberger for third. Mroczkowski ran a strong top 4 with Brian Ambrosius fifth. Czarapata earned a clean sweep on the weekend winning at Luxemburg, Shawano and Seymour.

Jeremy Cota started on the outside pole and never was challenged in the IMCA Sportmod feature. Cota jumped out and won by a near straightaway over point leader Josh Long. Brad Lautenbach beat Cody Hudson to the line for third. Russell Franks rounded out the top 5. The race went green to checker. Cota picked up win number 4 on the season at the speedway. He now trails Long by 6 points with 2 nights remaining in the chase for the title. Lautenbach is 7 back in third.

Derek Lecker picked up his first win of the 2012 season in impressive fashion. He took the lead at the drop of the green and had a half lap lead when he crossed the checkered flag first. In the caution free race, Alan Schlueter finished second with Jon Ashcraft, Phil Hiles and Frank Groeschel rounding out the top 5.

Calvin Stueck picked up the lead halfway through the 4 Cylinder feature and cruised to his 9th win of the season. He extended his point lead with the win.

Next Sunday Night August 18th, Napa Auto Parts of Seymour will be sponsoring the races. Spectator Eliminator races will again be held after the final feature. Seymour Super Speedway’s GPS Address is Seymour Speedway, 637 North Main St. Seymour, WI 54165. The track phone number is (920)833-7726.

Photos courtesy of Dan Lewis Photography

Race Results

IMCA Modified Feature - 1. Jason Czarapata, Pulaski 2. Dave Hoerning, Appleton 3. Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls 4. Marcus Yarie, Wausau 5. Justin Ritchie, New London
Heat #1 - 1. Arneson 2. Tony Wedelstadt, New London
Heat #2 - 1. Kyle Kudick, Two Rivers 2. Yarie

IMCA Stockcar Feature - 1. Brandon Czarapata, Appleton 2. Shawn Wagner, Shawano 3. Devon Snellenberger, Pulaski 4. Josh Mroczkowski, Krakow 5. Brian Ambrosius, Pulaski
Heat #1 - 1. Mroczkowski 2. Snellenberger
Heat #2 - 1. Barry Van Straten, Shiocton 2. Czarapata
Heat #3 - 1. Wagner 2. Mitch Stankowski, Wausau

IMCA Sportmod Feature - 1. Jeremy Cota, Oconto 2. Josh Long, Green Bay 3. Brad Lautenbach, New Franken 4. Cody Hudson, Shawano 5. Russell Franks, Oconto
Heat - 1. Lautenbach 2. Cota

Street Stock Feature - 1. Derek Lecker, Black Creek 2. Alan Schlueter, Oconto 3. Jon Ashcraft, Oshkosh 4. Phil Hiles, Appleton 5. Frank Groeschel, Menasha
Heat #1 - 1. Lecker 2. Bob Czarapata, Krakow
Heat #2 - 1. Ashcraft 2. Schlueter

4 Cylinder Feature - 1. Calvin Stueck, Clintonville 2. Dean Dekeyser, Pulaski 3. Jeff Behm, Clintonville 4. Tyler Hungerford, Freedom 5. Trent Nolan, Shawano
Heat - 1. Stueck 2. Hungerford

Login Form