Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Text Size

July 12 - Race Report

thumb_sey_20090712_036Seymour July 12 - Mother nature has turned into a race fan lately, giving N.E.W. DIRT another perfect night for racing Sunday at the Seymour Speedway.    A field of 117 cars checked in and ran a fast paced program done in record time at 8:44.


thumb_sey_20090712_038Phil Hiles opened the Street Stock  main setting the pace for the first lap before Matt Drawenek inched ahead.   Drawenek held the position through 2 cautions on laps 3 and 7.   After the final restart, Jeremy Wiitala moved into the top spot and opened a slight lead on the field with Hiles moving back into the runner up spot.    By the halfway mark, point leader, Todd Everard moved into third.   The leaders spread out a bit over the last half of the race, but with 3 laps left, Hiles made a run at the leader, pulling alongside a couple times, and was even when the white flag appeared.   Wiitala fought back and collected his first feature win of the season here.    Hiles was second with Everard holding third.  Joe Schwister, Aaron Melchert and Drawenek  round out the top six.


thumb_sey_20090712_042After a couple cautions before the race started, the IMCA Sport Mods drove a non stop event.    Dennis Miesler led the open round with Jamie Schmidt taking control on lap 2 and never looked back, leaving the field behind to race for second.   Jeremy Cota, Brandon Long, Rod Solem,  Josh Long and Eric Arneson bunched to do battle.   Schmidt continued to stretch his lead  by the mid point with Solem, Arneson, Jamie Goffard, point leader, Travis Van Straten and Cota behind.     After running tight races to finish second the past 2 weeks, Schmidt continued to pull away and collect his first division feature win, making him the first driver in N.E.W. DIRT history to win features in 4 divisions, 4 cylinder, Street Stock, Modified and now Sport Mod.     The race for second was won by Solem with Van Straten taking third, Arneson fourth and Goffard fifth.   Eugene Gregorich finished sixth after blowing an engine in his heat and starting the main last in the 21 car field..

thumb_sey_20090712_044The IMCA Stock Cars set a field of 21 cars and clicked of 20 straight laps.  Brian Ambrosius took off from the pole and checked out early on the field.   Jason Bork, Paul White, Andy Kornowski, Jerry Leary, Darren Otto and John Heinz were next in line.   Otto was the big mover, taking the runner up spot on lap 7 and started to work closing the huge lead of Ambrosius.   The front half of the field strung out a bit over the final half of the race, but the rest of the field was bunched tight. Ambrosius continued to set the pace and hold a lead while Otto worked to close in.   White was next with point leader, Shawn Wagner moving into fourth.  Jeremy Christians, started near the back after winning his consy to make the main, hooked up on the outside and moved into fifth running with Kyle Frederick and Rod Snellenberger.   

Otto continued to close the gap on the leader, but would run out of laps leaving Ambrosius to collect his first ever N.E.W. DIRT, Seymour Speedway feature win. Otto, Christians, Wagner, White and Frederick round out the top six.

thumb_sey_20090712_047Dean Maurer set the pace in the Budweiser IMCA Modified main until the first and only caution flew on lap 5.  Jason Czarapata, Brian Mullen and Jerry Wilinski were able to get by on the restart, with Czarapata and Mullen pulling away in their own race for the top spot.   Czarapata hugged the inside line and Mullen was force to finally move outside just before the mid point  and slipped by into the top spot on lap 12.    Wilinski had Benji LaCrosse join him and battle for third with the rest of the field bunched behind.    Mullen was able to hold off Czarapata for the distance to claim his second feature win and extend his point lead a bit.  Czarapata, Wilinski and LaCrosse made the top four with  Maurer holding fifth and Mike Mullen rounding out the top six.

thumb_sey_20090712_049After an opening lap caution, the 4 Cylinders wrapped up the fast paced night with a flag to flag contest.   Ralph Liegeois, Jr,  Matt Jahnke,  Josh Vogel,  Tony Everard and Kevin Glatz were running behind.    When Liegeois bobbled a bit on lap 5, Vogel made the move to the lead and over the rest of the race, held off Liegeois to collect his first career Seymour feature win.     Calvin Stueck, Logan Sobieck, Glatz and point leader, Kevin Birr round out the top six.

Racing continues this week, July 19, before a week off for the County Fair.






20 Lap Feature

1. Brian Mullen, Seymour  2. Jason Czarapata, Pulaski   3. Jerry Wilinski, Seymour  4. Benji LaCrosse, Green bay  5. Dean Maurer, DePere  6. Mike Mullen, Seymour

8 Lap Heats

First: 1. Tim Van De Hei, Green Bay  2. Brian Mullen

Second: 1. Wilinski   2. Scott Boyea, Adrams

Third: 1. LaCrosse   2. Czarapata



20 Lap Feature

1. Jeremy Wiitala, Green Bay  2. Phil Hiles, Appleton  3. Todd Everard, Green Bay  4. Joe Schwister, Seymour   5. Aaron Melchert, Black Creek  6. Matt Drawenek, Kaukauna

8 Lap Heats

First: 1. Derek Lecker, Black Creek 2. Mert Summers, DePere

Second: 1. Everard   2. Drawenek



20 Lap Feature

1. Brian Ambrosius, Pulaski  2. Darren Otto, Green Bay  3. Jeremy Christians, Horicon  4. Shawn Wagner, Pulaski  5. Paul White, green Bay  6. Kyle Frederick, Gillett

10 Lap Consy

First: 1. Christians   2. Larry Karcz, Jr, Pulaski  3. Devin Snellenberger, Pulaski   4. Brian Koch, Freedom


Second: 1. Bob Schampers, Green Bay  2. ken Woodke, Kaukauna   3. Harley Simon, Seymour  4. Chris Lange, Appleton

8 Lap Heats

First: 1. Ambrosius   2. Andy Kornowski, Green Bay

Second: 1. Chaz Van Ooyen, Jr, Appleton  2. Frederick


Third: 1. Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski  2. Otto



20 Lap Feature

1. Jamie Schmidt, Seymour  2. Rod Solem, Seymour   3. Travis Van Straten, Hortonville  4. Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls   5. Jamie Goffard, Seymour  6. Eugene Gregorich, Kewaunee

8 Lap Heats

First: 1. Kevin Bethke, Neenah   2. Brad Lautenbach, New Franken

Second: 1. Jason Guyette, Black Creek   2. Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay

Third: 1. Schmidt  2. Josh Long, Green Bay



15 Lap Feature

1. Josh Vogel, Green Bay  2. Ralph Liegeois, Jr, Oconto  3. Calvin Stueck, Clintonville  4. Logan Sobieck, DePere  5. Kevin Glatz, Kaukauna   6. Kevin Birr, Krakow

8 Lap Heats

First: 1. Liegeois, Jr   2. Dean DeKeyser, Pulaski

Second: 1. Everard   2. Dan Juszczyk, Sobieski

Third: 1. Vogel   2. Matt Jahnke, Green Bay



Login Form