Monday, March 27, 2017
Text Size

Summer Holiday Classic final leg Sunday in Seymour

The final leg of the Summer Holiday Classic series will take place this Sunday, September 6, at the Seymour Speedway.

The event will feature the WDLMA Late Models which will be competing in a 30 lap main event.

A total of 38 different late model drivers have run the first 2 events in the series, and with several tracks not running in the area this week, there should be a full field on hand for the final race.   A.J. Diemel has won both series events so far and has been tough on other local track throughout the season, and should be considered a top pick for the race Sunday night.


The other 5 regular season divisions will also be competing.   The IMCA divisions completed their point season last week because of Boone,  but the increased purse will still produce a full field in each division.    Congrats to our 2009 champions....Benji LaCrosse second straight and third title in the past 4 season in the Budweiser IMCA Modifieds.  Shawn Wagner won his first career IMCA Stock Car division title by only 6 points over Jeremy Christians.   Travis Van Straten won his first career and first ever N.E.W. DIRT title in the IMCA Sport Mods.

The Street Stock and 4 Cylinder divisions will be running their final point race of the season this week, however.

Todd Everard is the current point leader and holds a slim 7 point lead entering the final race of the season.  He is trailed by David Hoerning, who has run a string of three straight feature wins to move into second place.     Hoerning won the openning night feature and Everard used his own 4 race  streak to take the point lead early in the season.  Jeremy Wiitala is a former 2 time champion and sits in third place only 10 behind the leader.    These three drivers have combined to win 14 of the 15 features run this season, so the final should be a great race.     Both Everard and Hoerning are looking for their first track titles.

The scenario in the 4 Cylinder division is completely different with point leader, Kevin Birr, holding an unsurmountable 52 point lead over Logan Sobieck.   Both have run strong all season with Birr winning 5 features this season and Sobieck claiming 2 wins.     Birr is the defending champion and has now become the first repeat title holder in the 7 year old division here in Seymour.   There are still several top 10 positions up for grabs.


Following the racing program Sunday night, N.E.W. DIRT will be hosting a season ending appreciation party in the pit, open to all drivers, crews and fans.   There will be a corn and pig roast along with beverages for all to enjoy.

An added bonus, there will be a dunk tank set up with the wet seat being occupied during the party by flag man, Art Siefert, club president, Dave Rihm and club secretary, Hope Bruskiewicz.    Others may be added.   So you are invited to bring your $1 bills for a shot at the trigger.


The pit will open at 3 PM Sunday and all are urged to arrive as early as possible to avoid any delays.    All line ups will be draw/ re draw and the cut off for the draw is a definate 5 PM.     The pit admission is $30.


The grandstand will also open earlier, at 4 PM, with all windows also open earlier to ensure quick entry.  Admission is $12.00 for adults, Teens 13-18 and seniors 55+ are $8.00, kids 12 and under are FREE with adult.


Racing, as always, begins at 6 PM.


It wis going to be a great night to close the 2009 season, and we hope you can join us Sunday night at the Seymour Speedway

Login Form