Saturday, March 25, 2017
Text Size

Paul Parker Hits Paydirt, Wagner Wins Again

Click to see image gallery

Paul Parker took the lead on lap 14 from Troy Springborn and never looked back, picking up the $1,250 Late Model purse at Seymour Super Speedway. Other feature winners from the Summer Holiday Classic were; Mike Mullen (mods), Shawn Wagner (stockcar), Troy Jerovetz (sport mod), Aaron Melchert (street stock) and Josh Mroczkowski (four-cylinders).

Click to see image gallery

Troy Springborn would set the pace early in the Late Model feature, that’s when Paul Parker would make a play for the lead on lap 12, charging up from his seventh place starting spot. The duo would run door to door for the next two laps before Parker would take command of the race. Parker would enter heavy lap traffic with 5 laps to go and Terry Anvelink would close the gap but it was too little too late as Parker would cash in and take the win ahead of Anvelink. Nick Anvelink would come from his 20th starting position to place third. Springborn would sette for fourth, and Justin Ritchie would cross the checkers fifth.

Second generation racer Mike Mullen would pass relative Scott Mullen and win the feature, taking home a cool $600.

Scott Mullen would use his front row starting position to take command early in the IMCA Modified feature. Shawn Kilgore and Mike Mullen would wage battle for second place allowing Scott to pull away to a sizable lead. Mike would work to the inside of Kilgore and began to close on the leader. Just before half way Mike would catch Scott and execute a clean pass taking the lead and never looking back. Benji LaCrosse would rally late and finish second, followed by Brian Mullen, Mike Wedelstadt and Russ Reinwald.

Shawn Wagner continues his domination of Sunday nights picking up his fourth feature win in a row.

Kyle Fredrick would wage battle with Mitch Stankowski in the opening circuits of the IMCA Stockcar feature. The duo would exchange the lead several times until lap 10. That’s when defending track champion Shawn Wagner would go three wide using to low line and take the lead. Wagner would pull away and was never challenged leaving the battle for second between Fredrick and Rod Snellenberger. When the checkers flew Snellenberger would take second, Fredrick third, Greg Gutt and Stankoski would round out the top five.

State point leader Troy Jerovetz would lead every lap en route to his second feature win of the season.

Troy Jerovetz would jump to the top side as the green flew, quickly passing 5 cars and to take command of the IMCA Sport Mod main on lap 1. A caution on lap 11 would bunch the field. Johnny Whitman and Eric Arneson would be right behind. But when the green flew Jerovetz would again pull away and cruise to the checkers. Whitman would place second, Arneson third, Brad Lautenbach fourth and fifth for Rod Solem who started 20th.

Aaron Melchert would out duel point leader Matt Drawenek for his first win of the season.

Last weeks feature winner Tony Schwamer would set the early pace in the Street Stock feature. A series of quick cautions would keep the field tight as points leader Matt Drawenek would begin his march through the field. Drawenek would suffer a flat tire in his heat and started 24th in the feature. It only took Drawenek 6 laps to pass 23 cars and take the lead from Schwamer. Drawenek’s time up front was short lived as two laps later Aaron Melchert would sling shot by using the high groove to take the lead. Phil Hiles, Schwamer and Drawenek would keep heavy pressure on the leader but Melchert would never waver and went on to pick up the win. Drawenek would place second, Hiles third, Schwamer fourth and defending track champion Todd Everard fifth.

Josh Mroczkowski would survive a late race caution to win the four-cylinder feature.

Next Sunday, June 6 racing will resume at 6 p.m. Seymour Speedway is located 15 minutes west of Green Bay off state highway 54 at the Outagamie County Fairgrounds. The track phone is (920) 833-7726.





LATE MODEL FEATURE: 1. Paul Parker, Appleton; 2. Terry Anvelink, Navarino; 3. Nick Anvelink, Navarino; 4. Troy Springborn, Shawano; 5. Justin Ritchie, New London

HEAT 1: Paul Parker; Pete Parker, Kaukauna

HEAT 2: Chris Oertel, Marshfield; Bill Rezutek, Big Bend


IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE: 1. Mike Mullen, Seymour; 2. Benji LaCrosse; 3. Brian Mullen, Seymour; 4. Mike Wedelstadt, New London; 5. Russ Reinwald, Juneau

CONSI 1: Julie Wedelstadt, New London; Jamie Schmidt, Seymour

HEAT 1: Kyle Lentz, Green Bay; Tim Van De Hei, Green Bay

HEAT 2: LaCrosse; Wedelstadt HEAT 3: Mike Mullen; Shawn Kilgore, New Franken


IMCA STOCKCAR FEATURE: 1. Shawn Wagner, Seymour; 2. Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; 3. Kyle Fredrick, Oconto Falls; 4. Greg Gutt, Bowler; 5. Mitch Stankowski, Wausau

CONSI 1: Justin Jacobson, Hortonville; Harley Simon, Seymour

CONSI 2: Larry Karcz Jr., Pulaski; Dustin Loberger, Oconto

HEAT 1: Nate Michonski, Leopolis; Jeremy Wiitala, Green Bay

HEAT 2: Stankowski, Fredrick

HEAT 3: Snellenberger, Wagner

HEAT 4: John Heinz, Green Bay; Jeremy Christians, Horicon


IMCA SPORT MOD FEATURE: 1. Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay; 2. Johnny Whitman, De Pere; 3. Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls; 4. Brad Lautenbach, New Franken; 5. Rod Solem, Seymour

HEAT 1: Ron Besaw, Winneconne; Jeremy Cota, Oconto

HEAT 2: Jerovetz, Travis Van Straten, Hortonville

HEAT 3: Whitman, Lautenbach


STREET STOCK FEATURE: 1. Aaron Melchert, Seymour; 2. Matt Drawenek, Kaukauna; 3. Phil Hiles, Appleton; 4. Tony Schwamer, Clintonville; 5. Todd Everard, Green Bay

HEAT 1: Everard; Bob Czarapata, Krakow

HEAT 2: Schwamer; Nick Everard, Green Bay

HEAT 3: Melchert; Hiles


FOUR-CYLINDER FEATURE: 1. Josh Mroczkwoski, Krakow; 2. Calvin Stueck, Clintonville; 3. Dan Juszczyk, Sobieski; 4. Jesse Cullen, Chilton; 5. Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls

HEAT 1: Craig Van Dewettering, Oconto Falls; Juszczyk

HEAT 2: Dean Dekeyser, Pulaski; Jason Cornelius, Oneida

HEAT 3: Cullen; Stueck


Login Form