Tuesday, March 28, 2017
Text Size

Lacrosse Shades Maurer, Wins Seymour IMCA Mod Go

Click to see image gallery

Luxemburg’s Benji LaCrosse passed De Pere’s Dean Maurer with two laps to go to win the caution free, 20 lap IMCA modified feature at Seymour Speedway Sunday night.

A season high 170 cars showed up to race, including 25 late models, 29 IMCA modifieds, 31 stock cars, 30 northern sportmods, 28 street stocks and 27 4 bangers.

Front row starter Maurer appeared headed for victory, as the veteran quickly sped away from the field. By the race’s halfway point, Maurer had nearly a full straightaway lead. But LaCrosse, the defending track champion, started 12th and quickly whittled his way into fourth by lap 11.

LaCrosse drove the high line around Maurer on lap 18 and cruised to victory. Maurer hung on for second in his best finish of the year. Pulaski’s Jason Czarapata, Little Suamico’s Sean Jerovetz and Oconto Falls’ Lance Arneson placed third through fifth, respectively.

Gillett’s Kyle Frederick captured the caution free, 20 lap IMCA stock car feature. Trailing Frederick at the line was current points leader Shawn Wagner of Seymour, Seymour’s Harley Simon who posted his best finish of the year in third, Pulaski’s Devin Snellenberger and Suamico’s Kyle Wanner.

Kewaunee’s Brad Theys earned his IMCA northern sportmod victory the hard way. The second year driver battled his way into the 20 lap main by winning the semi feature. Theys started 16th on the grid and clawed his way into the top five by lap 12. Theys caught Seymour’s Rod Solem, who was leading from lap 13, and nipped him at the line by a bumper. Solem hung on for second place money, followed by De Pere’s Johnny Whitman, Black Creek’s Chad Guyette and Green Bay’s Troy Jerovetz.

Green Bay’s Todd Everard padded his points lead with the victory in the 20 lap street stock feature. Everard was challenged in the early going by Appleton rookie Josh Novak. But after a handful of cautions Black Creek’s Joe Schwister wrestled second away from Novak and never looked back. Jon Schultz of Waunakee would finish third, followed by Tigerton’s Gary Kasparek and Novak.

Just as the late model feature took to the track power went out. After several attempts by track workers to correct the problem, it was decided that the late model and 4 banger features were to be cancelled, with pay and points split evenly amongst the drivers.

Race fans with their wrist band will be admitted to the Labor Day weekend show for just $10.00 instead of the regular $13.00.

There will be no racing on Sunday, August 1 due to the Outagamie County Fair. Weekly Sunday night racing will resume Sunday, August 8 beginning at 6 p.m. The track phone is (920) 833-7726.



HEATS – 1) Nick Anvelink, Bonduel; Pete Parker, Kaukauna  2) Todd Frank, Seymour; Tom Naeyaert, Shawano  3) Terry Anvelink, Navarino; Justin Ritchie, New London

IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE – Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg; Dean Maurer, De Pere; Jason Czarapata, Pulaski; Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico; Lance Arneson, Oconto Falls; Mike Mullen, Seymour
SEMI FEATURE – Jerry Wilinski, Seymour; Kyle Lentz, Green Bay
HEATS – 1) Maurer; Sean Jerovetz, Little Suamico   2) Jamie Schmidt, Seymour; Chris Engels, Green Bay   3) Chad Bartel, Shiocton; LaCrosse

IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE – Kyle Frederick, Gillett; Shawn Wagner, Seymour;  Harley Simon, Seymour; Devin Snellenberger, Pulaski; Kyle Wanner, Suamico; Greg Gutt, Bowler
SEMI FEATURES – 1) Devin Snellenberger, Pulaski; Todd True, Gillett  2) Chas Van Ooyen, Appleton; Paul White, Green Bay
HEATS – 1) Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; Brian Koch, Little Chute  2) Wanner; Wagner  3) Jamie Becks, Green Bay; Greg Gutt, Bowler

IMCA NORTHERN SPORTMOD FEATURE – Brad Theys, Kewaunee;  Rod Solem, Seymour;  Johnny Whitman, De Pere; Chad Guyette, Black Creek; Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay; Greg Wichman, Bonduel
SEMI FEATURE – Theys; Wichman
HEATS – 1) Kevin Bethke, Neenah; Chad Guyette, Black Creek  2) Brandon Long, Green Bay; Rod Solem, Seymour  3) Rob Charapada, Oconto; Jason Guyette, Black Creek

STREET STOCK FEATURE – Todd Everard, Green Bay; Joe Schwister, Black Creek;  Jon Schultz, Waunakee; Gary Kasparek, Tigerton;  Josh Novak, Appleton;  Stephen Hiles, Hortonville
SEMI FEATURE – Phil Hiles, Appleton; Troy Grissman, Appleton
HEATS – 1) Schwister; Matt Reinke, Reedsville  2) Mert Summers, Wrightstown; Stephen Hiles  3) Josh Novak; Schultz

4 BANGER FEATURE – cancelled
SEMI FEATURE – Craig Vanderwetting, Oconto Falls; Cody Hungerford, Little Chute
HEATS – 1) Ralph Liegios Jr., Oconto; Dan Juscyk, Sobieski  2) Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls;Wayne Hansen, Krakow  3) Jesse Cullen, Chilton; Josh Mrokczkowski, Krakow

Login Form