Saturday, March 25, 2017
Text Size

Anvelink, Mullen, Wagner and Besaw Win Season Opener at Seymour Super Speedway

Image GalleryAfter 5 rainouts to start out the season, Victory Sign and DA Swamp Bar broughtracing action to the Seymour Super Speedway. Feature winners were Nick Anvelinkin the Late Models, Brian Mullen in the IMCA Modifieds, Shawn Wagner in the IMCAStockcars, Ron Besaw in the IMCA Northern Sportmods, Jerry Winkler in the StreetStocks, and Brian Johnson in the 4 Cylinders.Nick Anvelink used his luck of the draw picking the pole position for the 30 lapLate Model feature. Anvelink shot out to an early lead and never was challengedearly on as he built a straightaway lead. Anvelink started working his waythrough lapped traffic until a caution would fly midway through the race. Onemore caution would fly on the restart. The next 23 laps went green to checkeras Anvelink cruised to victory with no challenges to pick up the first win inthe Summer Holiday Classic. Ron Berna overcame a spin to finish second. DaveFieber was third, Craig Schueffner fourth and Eric Pember rounding out the top5.

Brian Mullen used his front row starting position and used the highline tocruise around with the lead early in the IMCA Modified Feature. Kyle Lentzwould run second and briefly make up ground as they made their way throughlapped traffic. A caution on lap 12 would allow Benji LaCrosse and JasonCzarapata to join the race up front. On the restart, Mullen would again takecontrol with LaCrosse in tow. Mullen stayed up top with LaCrosse trying thebottom but to no avail. A caution with 5 laps to go kept the field close. Mullen was able to pull away for the opening night victory with LaCrossesecond. Czarapata finished third with Tim Jorgenson and Eddie Muenster makingup fourth and fifth respectively. Two-time defending Champion in the IMCA Stockcars, Shawn Wagner looked to be ontop again early in the IMCA Stockcar feature. Wagner was in complete controluntil a Greg Gutt spin brought out the caution on lap 13. Wagner restarted withthe lead but with heavy pressure from Heinz, Kyle Frederick and JustinJacobsen. The top four would break away from the field with Frederick andJacobsen swapping positions. Hienz would keep heavy pressure on Wagner the restof the way but was not able to make the pass. Wagner picked the win. Heinzfinished second holding off Jacobsen in third, Frederick fourth and BrianAmbrosius fifth.

Ron Besaw and Brad Theys raced side by side early on in the IMCA NorthernSportmod feature. Besaw would use the top with Theys down low. They wouldbreak away from the field until midway through the race. Tracy Wassenberg foundbite while running third and reeled in the top two along with Brad Lautenbach. Besaw would continue to lead as Wassenberg searched for the right line. Wassenberg made his way to second on the white flag lap but couldn’t manage thelast corner pass. Besaw won with Wassenberg settling for second. Lautenbachfinished third edging Theys in fourth. Rob Charapata finished fifth. Thefeature went Green to checker.

Phil Hiles led early on in the Street Stock feature until Jerry Winkler used apower move down low to nab the lead. Winkler would extend his lead until agroup of caution kept the field close. Winkler again would lead until a cautionsetup a two lap dash for cash. Winkler would pull away and pick up the win withShawn Haydon second, Mert Summers third, Mike Nehmer fourth, and Derek Leckerfifth. Brian Johnson picked up right where he left off as 2010 4 Cylinder Champion,picking up the feature win in the 4 cylinders. Johnson dominated the event withJustin Vannieuwenniven second and Sam Ambrosius third. Next Sunday night Marv’s Hometown Auto and Jackson Point CITGO will besponsoring the races at the Seymour Super Speedway. Racing gets underway withthe regular 5 division of racing. The GPS address for the track is 637 NorthMain St. Seymour, WI 54165. The Track’s website iswww.seymoursuperspeedway.comThe track phone is 920- 833-7726

30 lap Late Model Feature- 1. Nick Anvelink, Navarino 2. Ron Berna, Green Bay
3. Dave Fieber, Neenah 4. Craig Schueffner, Sheboygan Falls 5. Eric Pember,
Consy  1. Jim Rychtik, Port Washington 2. Justin Ritchie, New London
Heats #1 1. Pete Parker, Kaukana 2. Paul Parker, Appleton
#2 1. Berna 2. Jestin Danes, New Holstine
#3 1. Todd Frank, Seymour 2. Anvelink

25 lap IMCA Modified Feature- 1. Brian Mullen, Seymour 2. Benji LaCrosse, Green
Bay 3.  Jason Czarapata, Pulaski 4. Tim Jorgenson, Seymour 5. Eddie Muenster,
Green Bay
Heats #1 1. Mullen 2. Scott Mullen, Seymour
#2 1. Kyle Lentz, Green Bay 2. Czarapata

25 lap IMCA Stockcar Feature- 1. Shawn Wagner, Pulaski 2. John Heinz, Green Bay
3. Justin Jacobsen, Hortonville 4. Kyle Frederick, Oconto Falls 5. Brian
Ambrosius, Pulaski
Consy 1. Jon Courchaine, Oconto Falls 2. Mike Coel, Green Bay
Heats #1 1. Heinz 2. Frederick
#2 1. Mitch Stankowski, Wausau 2. Harley Simon, Seymour
#3 1. Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski 2. Nate Michonski, Leopolis
20 lap IMCA Northern Sportmod Feature- 1. Ron Besaw, Winneconne 2. Tracy
Wassenberg, Shawano 3. Brad Lautenbach, New Franken 4. Brad Theys, Kewaunee 5.
Rob Charapata, Oconto

Consy 1.  Eric Mahlik, Green Bay 2. Chris Benes, Algoma
Heats #1 1. Lautenbach 2. Theys
#2 1. Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls 2. Tyler Hackett, Algoma
#3 1. Wassenberg 2. Besaw
20 lap Street Stock Feature- 1. Jerry Winkler, Oshkosh 2. Shawn Haydon, Appleton
3. Mert Summers, Wrightstown 4. Mike Nehmer, Larson 5. Derek Lecker, Black Creek
Heats #1 1. Winkler 2. Matt Drawenek, Kaukana
#2 1. Summers 2. Gary Kasperek, Tigerton
#3 1. Phil Hiles, Appleton 2. Joe Schwister, Seymour
15 lap 4 Cylinder Feature- 1. Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls 2. Justin
Vannieuwenniven, Sobieski 3. Sam Ambrosius, Pulaski 4. Josh Mroczkowski, Krakow
5. Calvin Stueck, Clintonville
Heats #1 1. Johnson 2. Stueck
#2 1. Vannieuwenniven 2. Ambrosius

Login Form