Tuesday, March 28, 2017
Text Size




Seymour June 26-  9:25 AM – The weather continued is nasty ways by dumping over 1 ½ inches of rain early Sunday morning and along with a strong storm cell  made a general mess of things at Seymour Raceway Park.   The result is cancelling the weekly racing program along with the Badger Midgets / Micro 600 Sprints for tonight, Sunday June 26.  

This will also postpone the “Life In The Past Lane” book signing event with Joe Verdegan as well, this for the second time this year.


Everything is pretty much under water right now and the hot, humid, cloudy weather will not be good for any drying to take place.  


This is the fourth rain out this season.


SRP and Badger officials are looking for an available date to reschedule.    Also working with Joe Verdegan to re schedule the book signing event.


Next week will bring in the Budweiser Summer Holiday Classic series which will feature the 50th Anniversary tour for the IRA Sprints along with the first appearance for the IMCA Modifieds.   Rounding out the night will be the IMCA Sport Mods.


Badger Midgets and Micro 600 join SRP Sunday night

 Badger Midgets & Micros at Seymour Sunday
                    “Challenge in the Northwoods” first at track since 1974

By Bryan Gapinski
Seymour, Wis., June 20---For the first time in over forty-years midget auto racing returns to Seymour Raceway Park on Sunday Night June 26. The Mid-State Equipment /Zimbrick Chevrolet of Sun Prairie Badger Midget Racing Series invade the 1/3/ mile banked clay oval for the “Challenge in the Northwoods”.
       This season marks the 80th year of sanctioning midget auto racing for the organization, oldest in the country. Brandon Waelti winner of the most recent feature on June 19 at Angell Park Speedway is atop the series point standings heading into the event.
       The 600 micros are also on the evening’s events and will feature a co-sanctioned event by the POWRi North Speedway Motors 600cc Outlaw Micro Series presented by Cab Construction & Badger 600 Micro Series presented by My Race Pass. Norm Ehrke aims for his third straight feature victory.
        Badger sanctioned an event at Seymour on Saturday afternoon July 20, 1974 when the track was a half-mile in length. Kevin Olson won the feature finishing ahead of fast qualifier Bob Walldan, Jim Hill, Jim Clement and Bill Ripp. It also marked the first career Badger feature win of Olson’s Hall of Fame career.
        The two open wheel divisions join the tracks regular Sunday Night divisions: Street Stocks, IMCA Sport Mods, and Coors Light IMCA Stock Cars. Pits open at 3 p.m. with grandstands at 4 p.m. and racing begins at 6 p.m. Seymour Raceway Park is located on the Outagamie County Fairgrounds at 637 N. Main Street, in Seymour.

Page 11 of 81

Login Form