Thursday, March 23, 2017
Text Size

Czarapata Wins 2nd In A Row At Seymour Super Speedway

Jason Czarapata :: IMCA Modifieds feature winner (Seymour, WI) - “Racin” Jason Czarapata was the man again in the IMCA Modifieds as he won his second straight feature at Seymour Super Speedway. Other winners were Jon Courchaine in the IMCA Stockcars, Brad Lautenbach in the IMCA Northern Sportmods, Gary Kasperek in the Street Stocks, and Cody Hungerford in the 4 Cylinders.

Mike Wedelstadt used his starting spot up front to ease his way into the lead early on in the IMCA Modified feature. Chad Bartel would make his way to second and use the bottom to catch Wedelstadt. Bartel would make the pass on lap four off of corner two. Bartel would start to pull away from the field until lap 12 when Jason Czarapata would reel him in. As like last week, Czarapata stayed on the back bumper of Bartel looking for an opening. That opening came with 4 laps to go. Czarapata ran the same line as last week and made quick work of Bartel. Czarapata would win his second straight feature as he cruised away from the field. Marcus Yarie would make the pass on Bartel for second. Benji LaCrosse would round out the top 4 with Mitch McGrath fifth. The feature event went green to checker.

Brian Ambrosius looked to be cruising to a feature win in the IMCA Stockcar main event until a caution on lap 8 would bring everyone to his back bumper. Jon Courchaine used the restart to his advantage and shot to the outside of Ambrosius on lap 11. Courchaine would lead lap 12 with Ambrosius fighting back to lead lap 13. Courchaine would once again have to use a restart and make the pass on Ambrosius, this time for good. Courchaine would keep everyone at bay in picking up his first IMCA Stockcar feature win of the season. Rod Snellenberger would wind up second, followed by Ambrosius, Bill Kelsey, and point leader Kyle Frederick. Frederick increased his point lead with his fifth place finish.

Cautions plagued the IMCA Northern Sportmod feature event. Tyler Wilson would lead early on until he spun out in front of the field bringing out a lap 4 caution.

Numerous cautions would keep the field close with Jeremy Cota leading the way. Brad Lautenbach would come from mid pack to take the lead away from Cota on lap 6. Lautenbach would lead through a series of cautions where only 1 lap would get completed at a time. The time limit occurred and the race went green, white, checker finish. Lautenbach would hold off the challenge of Eric Arneson and win his second feature of the season. Point leader Arneson finished runner-up. Rod Solem would run third followed by Travis Van Straten making his first run of the season a successful top 4. Cota would round out the top 5.

Frank Groeschel started up front and lead early in the Street Stock feature. Gary Kasperek and Dan Gracyalny would make their way to second and third by the time a lap 10 caution would fly. Kasperek would shoot into the lead but with heavy pressure coming from Gracyalny. Kasperek would hold onto his lead through the waning laps but with Gracyalny on his back bumper. Kasperek would hold off Gracyalny’s challenge and pick up his second feature win of the season. Gracyalny would extend his point lead with his second place finish. Phil Hiles would charge hard into a third place finish. Josh Novak and Tony Schwamer would round out the top 5.

Cody Hungerford scored the clean sweep in the 4 Cylinder division winning both the heat and 15 lap feature. Jasper Drengler made his first run of the season at the speedway finishing second. 2010 champion, Brian Johnson finished third.

Next Sunday Night July 31st, there will be no racing because of the Outagamie County Fair. Racing will resume August 7th with the Hall of Fame Ceremonies. Robinson Metal will sponsor the evening’s festivities.


Photos courtesy of Dan Lewis Photography


IMCA Modified Feature- 1. Jason Czarapata, Pulaski 2. Marcus Yarie, Wausau 3. Chad Bartel, Shiocton 4. Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay 5. Mitch McGrath, Neosho
Heats- # 1. Bartel 2. Czarapata
#2 1. Mike Wedelstadt, New London 2. LaCrosse

IMCA Stockcar Feature- 1. Jon Courchaine, Oconto Falls 2. Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski 3. Brian Ambrosius, Pulaski 4. Bill Kelsey, Luxemburg 5. Kyle Frederick, Oconto Falls
Consy’s- #1 1. Paul White, Green Bay
#2 1. Steve Thornton, Sobieski
Heats- #1 1. Ambrosius 2. Justin Jacobsen, Hortonville
#2 1. Shawn Wagner, Shawano 2. Courchaine
#3 1. Kelsey 2. Brandon Czarapata, Pulaski

IMCA Northern Sportmod Feature- 1. Brad Lautenbach, New Franken 2. Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls 3. Rod Solem, Seymour 4. Travis Van Straten, Hortonville 5. Jeremy Cota, Oconto
Heats- #1 1. Brad Theys, Kewaunee 2. Van Straten
#2 1. Solem 2. Arneson

Street Stock Feature- 1. Gary Kasperek, Tigerton 2. Dan Gracyalny, Little Chute 3. Phil Hiles, Appleton 4. Josh Novak, Appleton 5. Tony Schamer, Clintonville
Heats- #1 1. Hiles 2. Kasperek
#2 1. Gracyalny 2. Novak

4 Cylinder Feature- 1. Cody Hungerford, Little Chute 2. Jasper Drengler, Shawano 3. Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls 4. T.J. Everard, Green Bay 5. Sam Ambrosius, Pulaski
Heats- #1 1. Drengler 2. Wayne Hansen, Krakow
#2 1. Hungerford 2. Johnson

Login Form