Monday, March 27, 2017
Text Size

September 1 Results


By Edward Anschutz
(Seymour, WI) September 1, 2013 Results- “Bad” Brad Rohloff bested a solid field of IMCA Modifieds to earn his second feature win of the season at Seymour Super Speedway. Other feature winners were Nick Anvelink (WDLMA), Rod Snellenberger (IMCA Stock Car), Jeremy Cota (IMCA Sport Mod), Jerry Winkler (Street Stock) and Brian Johnson (Sport Fours).

107 race cars were in action for the final night of the season at N.E.W. Dirt. There were 23 Mods, 23 Stock Cars, 19 Street Stocks, 17 Late Models, 14 Sport Mods and 14 Sport Fours. Thanks to everyone who supported the track in 2013. 

Johnny Whiteman jumped to an early lead of the Modified main. Brad Rohloff fresh off a feature win at Shawano Speedway last night quickly began his assault on the field. Rohloff raced past Rookie TJ Smith and Charlie Wild for the runner up spot. Whiteman paced the field running the preferred high groove, forcing Rohloff to the low side. Rohloff worked to the inside and past the leader after a great side by side battle. Rohloff led the rest of the event en route to his second feature win of the season. Benji LaCrosse closed in late but had to settle for second, Whiteman, Russ Reinwald and Smith completed the top five.  

Nick Anvelink got lucky drawing the pole position of the Late Model main, he then set a blistering pace taking control of the WDLMA event from multi-time 2013 feature winner Tim Buhler. Ron Berna raced into the runner up spot but his tires seemed to give up midway through the contest, falling into the clutches of Mitch McGrath. Anvelink had a straight away lead when a caution with just 6 laps remaining slowed the field. Anvelink and Berna each got a great restart but no one was able to challenge Anvelink as he dominated the event leading all 30 laps. Waiting in victory lane for Anvelink was a beautiful Kim Parsons Memorial trophy along with Bill Behling Memorial plaque. Berna captured second, McGrath had to settle for third, Brett Swedberg scored fourth while Tim Rothe was a hard charger racing from outside row 6 to finish fifth. 

Street Stock action was hot and heavy early on with Ryan Blank taking the lead from Frank Groeschel on lap 4. A caution at the midway point of the 20 lap feature put the field on the back spoiler of Blank. As the race restarted Jerry Winkler worked by Blank on the outside groove to take the lead. Winkler pulled away from the competition en route to his 8th feature win of the season. Winkler had the most feature wins of any Street Stock driver in north eastern Wisconsin. Patty Winkler backed up last weeks feature win with a second place finish, Blank finished out a strong sophomore season with third,  Justin Linder was fourth and Jon Ashcraft was fifth. Ashcraft was crowned champion of the Street Stocks, the first of his career. 

“Hot” Rod Snellenberger worked past Vern Stedjee for the lead on lap 2 and went unchallenged the remainder of the event to score a clean sweep and his first feature win of the season. Barry VanStraten had a late race charge to second, Mitch Stankowski had another good run with third, Kyle Fredrick placed fourth and Jeremy Wiitala rallied to fifth after suffering a flat tire early in the race. 

Jeremy Cota raced to his 4th feature win of the season in the Sport Mod division. Cota slipped past Dennis Miesler on lap 2 for the lead. No one had enough to beat the No. 17 machine as Cota survived several cautions. The runner up spot went to Jason Guyette, third went to Marcus Yarie who drove the Cody Hokenstad car, Chris Budzban came home fourth and Miesler completed the top five. 

Brian Johnson took the lead away from Patrick Klawitter midway through the Sport Four feature to score his 4th feature win of the season. Brad Wedde claimed second, Klawitter was third, Carl King and Calvin Stueck rounded out the top five. Stueck was able to capture the title and make it back to back championships in the Sport Fours. 


30 LAP WDLMA FEATURE: 1. Nick Anvelink, Navarino; 2. Ron Berna, Abrams; 3. Mitch McGrath, Neosho; 4. Brett Swedberg, Shawano; 5. Tim Rothe, Little Chute; 6. Tim Buhler, Glen Beulah; 7. Justin Schmidt, Cleveland; 8. Justin Ritchie, New London; 9. Pete Parker, Kaukauna; 10. Troy Springborn, Shawano; 11. Tom Naeyeart, Shawano; 12. Derek Janke, New London; 13. Joe Reuter, Green Bay; 14. Josh Moesch, Shawano; 15. Nick Cochart, Casco; 16. Steve Petri, Black Creek; 17. Paul Parker, Kaukauna 

HEAT 1: Berna; Buhler
HEAT 2: McGrath; Anvelink

20 LAP BUDWEISER IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE: 1. Brad Rohloff, Shawano; 2. Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay; 3. Johnny Whitman, De Pere; 4. Russ Reinwald, Juneau; 5. 

HEAT 1: Marcus Yarie, Wausau; Whitman
HEAT 2: LaCrosse; Jamie Schmidt, Seymour

20 LAP COORS LIGHT IMCA STOCK CAR FEATURE: 1. Rod Snellenberger, Pulaski; 2. Barry VanStraten, Shiocton; 3. Mitch Stankowski, Wausau; 4. Kyle Fredrick, Oconto Falls; 5. Jeremy Wiitala, Green Bay

HEAT 1: Snellenberger; VanStraten
HEAT 2: Joe Schwister, Seymour; Vern Stedjee, Shiocton 
HEAT 3: Larry Karcz Jr., Pulaski Fredrick

16 LAP IMCA SPORT MOD FEATURE: 1. Jeremy Cota, Oconto; 2. Jason Guyette, Black Creek; 3. Marcus Yarie, Wausau; 4. Chris Budzban, Luxemburg; 5. Dennis Miesler, Luxemburg

HEAT 1: Yarie; Hunter Parsons, Green Bay
HEAT 2: Guyette; Robby Thiel, Appleton

20 LAP STREET STOCK FEATURE: 1. Jerry Winkler, Oshkosh; 2. Patty Winkler, Larsen; 3. Ryan Blank, Greenville; 4. Justin Linder, Loyal; 5. Jon Ashcraft, Oshkosh

HEAT 1: Mert Summers, Wrightstown; Linder
HEAT 2: J. Ashcraft; Blank

15 LAP SPORT FOUR FEATURE: 1. Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls; 2. Brad Wedde, Shawano; 3. Patrick Klawitter, Berlin; 4. Carl King, Shawano; 5. Calvin Stueck, Clintonville

HEAT 1: Johnson; Wedde
HEAT 2: Stueck; King

Login Form