Sunday, March 26, 2017
Text Size

Kelsey Wins First Career IMCA Stockcar Feature at Seymour Super Speedway.

Bill Kelsey :: IMCA Stockcars feature winner (Seymour,WI)- Sunday night was hot on the track and even hotter inside the cockpits. Eighteen yellows and one red flag kept the racing fields close in all the divisions.

Bill Kelsey won a time-limit feature in the IMCA Stockcars to pick up his first career IMCA Stockcar feature win at Seymour Super Speedway. Other winners included, Mike Wedelstadt in the IMCA Modifieds, Jeremy Cota in the IMCA Northern Sportmods, Phil Hiles in the Street Stocks and Brian Johnson in the 4 Cylinders.

In IMCA Northern Sportmod feature action, Nick Guyette set the early pace with Kurt Moeller stalking him around the corners. A caution on lap six would regroup the field with Jeremy Cota in third. Cota would make his move to second and run toe to toe with Guyette. On lap eight, Guyette would jump the birm in turn two with Cota gaining control of the lead. Cota would continue to lead through a series of cautions midrace. Brad Lautenbach would gain on Cota as he entered second place. Cota would hold off late charges by both Lautenbach and Moeller to pick up his first win of the season. Lautenbach beat Moeller to the line for second. Brad Theys would run to a top four finish with Eric Arneson fifth.

Mike Wedelstadt used his outside pole position in the IMCA Modified feature to shoot pass Eddie Muenster and into the lead. Three cautions by lap five would keep the field close. Wedelstadt would pull away on every restart and would appear to have the race won easily. Jay Matthias found bite on the white flag lap and shot under Wedelstadt in turn four but couldn’t make the pass. Wedelstadt would pick up the win with Mathias finishing second on the night. Marcus Yarie and Eddie Muenster would finish third and fourth. After and early incident Brian Mullen would bring his racer home in fifth and increase his point lead.

Brandon Gagnon would look strong early on in the IMCA Stockcar feature and build a good lead on the field until numerous cautions would wipe away his leads. Bill Kelsey used a three wide pass on a lap six restart and grab the lead over Gagnon and Chas Van Ooyen. Kelsey would run as leader through four more cautions midrace. A red flag would fly as Rod Snellenberger would flip on a restart. Snellenberger was alright. The track crew would flip his car over but only to have a right rear tire force him down pit lane. A green, white, checker scenario would eventually come as the time limit had expired. Barry Van Straten, who used the topside was able to pull even out of turn two on the white flag lap but couldn’t make the pass. Kelsey would pull away and pick up his first career IMCA Stockcar feature win. Van Straten would finish second even with a bent rearend from earlier in the weekend. Larry Karcz Jr came in third, Van Ooyen fourth and Kyle Frederick fifth increasing his point lead.

Brian Johnson made quick work of the field and dominated the fifteen lap 4 Cylinder feature. Justin Vannieuwenhoven and Sam Ambrosius would finish out the top three.

Next Sunday night at Seymour Super Speedway, Bork Plastering will sponsor the evening’s events. Racing gets underway at 6 p.m. Seymour Super Speedway’s GPS Address is Seymour Speedway, 637 North Main St. Seymour, WI 54165. The track phone number is (920)833-7726.


Photos courtesy of Dan Lewis Photography


IMCA Modified Feature- 1. Mike Wedelstadt, New London 2. Jay Mathias, DePere 3. Marcus Yarie, Wausau 4. Eddie Muenster, Green Bay 5. Brian Mullen, Seymour

Heats- #1 1. Wedelstadt 2. Yarie #2 1. Muenster 2. Scott Mullen, Seymour

IMCA Stockcar Feature- 1. Bill Kelsey, Luxemburg 2. Barry Van Straten, Shiocton 3. Larry Karcz Jr, Pulaski 4. Chas Van Ooyen, Appleton 5. Kyle Frederick, Oconto Falls

Heats- #1 1. Karcz 2. Harley Simon, Seymour #2 1. Justin Jacobsen, Hortonville 2. Shawn Wagner, Shawano #3 1. Mitch Stankowski, Wausau 2. Tom Riehl, Hortonville

IMCA Northern Sportmod Feature- 1. Jeremy Cota, Oconto 2. Brad Lautenbach, New Franken 3. Kurt Moeller, Seymour 4. Brad Theys, Luxemburg 5. Eric Arneson, Oconto Falls

Heat- #1 1. Lautenbach 2. Tyler Wilson, Sobieski #2 1. Moeller 2. Cota

Street Stock feature- 1. Phil Hiles, Appleton 2. Dan Gracyalny, Little Chute 3. Matt Drawenek, Kaukauna 4. Mert Summers, Wrightstown 5. Shawn Hayden, Appleton

Heats- #1 1. Drawenek 2. Hiles #2 1. Summers 2. Derek Lecker, Black Creek

4 Cylinder Feature- 1. Brian Johnson, Oconto Falls 2. Justin Vannieuwenhoven, Sobieski 3. Sam Ambrosius, Pulaski 4. Cody Hungerford, Little Chute 5. Dan Juszczyk, Sobieski

Heats- #1 1. Josh Mroczkowski, Krakow 2. Hungerford #2 1. Calvin Stueck, Clintonville 2. Johnson

Login Form