Tuesday, March 28, 2017
Text Size

Berna Rockets to Late Model Feature Win

On a night that saw only 2 cautions for 125 laps of total feature racing; the “Rocket” Ron Berna did just what his name says and picked up the Late Model 30 lap main event. Other winners included Mitch McGrath (IMCA Modifieds) Brandon Czarapata (IMCA Stockcars) Tyler Wilson (IMCA Sportmods) Gary Kasperek (Street Stocks) and Calvin Stueck (4 Cylinders).

Ron Berna started on the pole in the Late Model main event. The closest anyone came to him was being on the back bumper on the start and restart of the feature. Berna jumped out and never looked back in the win. Berna was the conductor of the train at the checkers. Pete Parker would win the race long duel with Nick Anvelink to finish in second. Justin Ritchie made his way to finish fourth with Paul Parker fifth. The only caution of the race was on lap 8. The event finished under a 22 lap green flag run.

Photos courtesy of Dan Lewis Photography

Jerry Wilinski started on the pole and jumped out to the lead very early in the IMCA Modified main. Mitch McGrath quickly jumped to the outside of the track and ran down Wilinski. McGrath would grab the lead on the top with Benji LaCrosse following into second. The rest of the feature had LaCrosse trying every lane possible to pass McGrath. McGrath would lead LaCrosse through lapped traffic and hold off all advances of LaCrosse. McGrath finished ahead of LaCrosse at the checkered flag for his first Seymour win in 2012. Marcus Yarie finished third with point leader Jason Czarapata extending his point lead finishing in fourth. Pole sitter Wilinski finished fifth. The race was caution free.

Jeremy Wiitala started on the pole but would quickly see Shawn Wagner fly by on the outside. Wagner started fourth on the field but would quickly have the lead on the opening lap. Brandon Czarapata worked his way into a solid second where he eyed up Wagner as his next target. Czarapata got to the back bumper of Wagner and tried different lines for the pass. On lap 7 heading into turn one, Wagner slid up the track just a bit allowing Czarapata to get underneath. Czarapata led the final 13 laps and picked up the comfortable win over Wagner. Brian Ambrosius, Kyle Frederick and Jeremy Wiitala rounded out the top 5.

J.J. Anderson started on the outside front row and jetted out front of the IMCA Sportmod Feature. Tyler Wilson ran the bottom of the track right on the tires and made his way to the lead. 2011 champ Brad Lautenbach tried the top of the track and found good bite on his charge to the front. Over the series of 6 laps Lautenbach would catch Wilson. The duo would run door to door at the halfway point of the race. Lautenbach would make the pass for the lead for two laps before Wilson fought back. Wilson used the bottom to regain the lead with Lautenbach staying outside. The two would race through lapped traffic causing Lautenbach to switch racing grooves. Lautenbach went back up top over the final few laps. Wilson would hold off the final charge of Lautenbach to win by half a car length. Lautenbach would gain the point lead with his runner-up finish. Eric Mahlik ran third by himself with Jason Guyette and Josh Long in the top five. The race went green flag to checker flag.

Tony Everard used every inch of the track on the opening lap of the Street Stock main to grab the lead. Everard would put a little distance between himself and the field. Gary Kasperek started 8 th and diced his way in and out of traffic to find his racer in second. Kasperek would run down Everard halfway through the race. Kasperek jumped out front and never looked back in the caution free event. Kasperek picked up the win with Jon Ashcraft finishing second a straightaway back. Everard ran third with Phil Hiles and Travis Springstroh fourth and fifth respectively. After the race, Mert Summers claimed the motor of Hiles. Hiles denied the claim; in doing so he lost his points and money for the evening.

Calvin Stueck and Cody Hungerford both started third row and charged to the front of the 4 Cylinder feature. The duo waged a war that lasted through the only caution of the event. Stueck would pull away late and extend his point lead with the win. Cody beat brother Tyler to the line for second.

Next Sunday Night racing gets underway at 6 p.m. The regular five divisions will be in action. Seymour Super Speedway’s GPS address is Seymour Speedway, 637 North Main St. Seymour, WI 54165. The track phone number is 1-920-833-7726. You can contact Cosmo at 1-920-420-8838.




Late Model Feature - 1. Ron Berna, Green Bay 2. Pete Parker, Kaukauna 3. Nick Anvelink, Navarino 4. Justin Ritchie, New London 5. Paul Parker, Kaukauna

Heats - #1 1. Pete Parker 2. Justin Schmidt, Cleveland #2 1. Ritchie 2. Anvelink


IMCA Modified Feature - 1. Mitch McGrath, Neosho 2. Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay 3. Marcus Yarie, Wausau 4. Jason Czarapata, Pulaski 5. Jerry Wilinski, Seymour

Heats - #1 1. LaCrosse 2. Czarapata #2 1. McGrath 2. Shawn Kilgore, New Franken


IMCA Stockcar Feature - 1. Brandon Czarapata, Appleton 2. Shawn Wagner, Shawano 3. Brian Ambrosius, Pulaski 4. Kyle Frederick, Oconto Falls 5. Jeremy Wiitala, Green Bay

Heats - #1 1. Bill Kelsey, Luxemburg 2. Wagner #2 1. Ambrosius 2. Frederick


IMCA Sportmod Feature - 1. Tyler Wilson, Sobieski 2. Brad Lautenbach, New Franken 3. Eric Mahlik, Green Bay 4. Jason Guyette, Black Creek 5. Josh Long, Green Bay

Heats - #1 1. Jeremy Cota, Oconto 2. Wilson #2 1. Jake Solin, White Lake 2. Todd Wiese, Algoma


Street Stock Feature - 1. Gary Kasperek, Tigerton 2. Jon Ashcraft, Oshkosh 3. Tony Everard, Green Bay 4. Phil Hiles (DQ-Claim Refusal) 5. Travis Springstroh, Freedom

Heats - #1 1. Kasperek 2. Hiles #2 1. Ashcraft 2. Frank Groeschel, Menasha


4 Cylinder Feature - 1. Calvin Stueck, Clintonville 2. Cody Hungerford, Little Chute 3. Tyler Hungerford, Freedom 4. Carl King 5. Jody Cornelius, Oneida

Heats - #1 1. Stueck 2. Cody Hungerford #2 1. Jeff Behm, Clintonville 2. Cornelius


Login Form