Monday, March 30, 2015
Text Size

Article Search

Sunday August 3 Resuts

Seymour, August 3- Racing resumed at the Seymour Speedway following a week off for the Outagamie County Fair, and the Budweiser sponsored program produced three first time winners and a pair of repeat feature winners Sunday night.

Despite threatening weather and rain throughout the surrounding areas, a full program was completed with a much improved 1/3 mile race track offering lenty of close racing.

The Coors Light IMCA Stock Cars put their feature on the track first with Travis Springstroh  taking the lead on lap 2 from Larry Parshen.   Current point leader, Rod Snellenberger  moved from mid pack quickly to the front and powered into the lead on lap 5.   Kyle Frederick moved into the runner up spot 2 laps later and challenged the leader for 5 laps before Snellenberger was able to start to pull away.    Travis Van Straten and Jeremy Wiitala moved up to challenge for the runner up spot over the final half of the race which allowed Snellenberger the opportunity to pull away and pick up his 2nd feature win of the season  and also his career #197.     Frederick claimed the second place  finish with Van Straten, Wiitala and Springstroh  amking up the top 5 with Chas Van Ooyen  rounding out the top six.

Bill Edler set the pace for the IMCA Sport Mod main for most of the first half of the race which included 2 restarts on laps 4 and 5.   He continued to set the pace with Beau Handschke moving into second after the final restart.  Handschke  closed in and ran side by side with the leader for 2 laps before moving into the top spot on lap 9.  Edler, Jessi Ness, Lucas Lamberies and Jeremy Cota bunched up behind running for second.    Handschke was able to open a lead by the time Cota worked into the runner up spot on lap 13, and set out to close the gap.   With 3 laps left, Cota found the back of Handschkes mount and  then pulled alongside as the white flag appeared.    Cota was able to get the bite he needed low out of turn 2 on the final lap and came across the finish line a car length ahead to record his second feature win of the season.    Handschke was second  with Lamberies, Ness, Rod Solem and Edler rounding out the top six.


The Turbo Blue Street Stocks continued the fast tight racing with  Paul Ambrosius and Tony Everard hooking up in  a side by side race for the lead for the first half of the race.  Cautions on laps 10 and 11 kept the field bunched  with Alan Schlueter moving behind the leader.   Jon Ashcraft and Ambrosius were running in third and fourth and made contact in turn three on alp 11.   Lexii Ashcraft and Patty Winkler moved into the fray for the lead after the restart and moved into the lead and second place on lap 13.    Ryan Blank and point leader, Jeff Jungwirth  moved in to the top five before a final pair of cautions appeared on lap 16 and 17, setting up a wild three lap dash to the finish.

Lexii Ashcraft held the lead after the final restart using the inside line and Schlueter was challenging on the outside.  Things got interesting as Blank  decided the middle line between Schlueter and Ashcraft might be the path to victory lane on the final lap out of turn 2.   Out of turn four to the finish, Ashcraft was still inside with Blank in the middle and Schlueter running the high line.   Ashcraft and Blank came together out of the turn and in the scrum, Schlueter was able to power by on the outside to take the victory at the line.   The win was his first ever N.E.W. DIRT feature win.  Ashcraft was inches ahead to take second with Blank third.   Patty Winkler took fourth with Jungwirth taking 5th, despite being almost a full lap behind after a first lap restart sent him in the pit for a flat tire.   Jeff Dorschner rounded out the top six.

Tyler Wilson grabbed the lead at the start of the Budweiser IMCA Modifieds feature and led the way for the first 9 laps.   Mike Mullen, Wilson, Eric Mahlik and T.J. Smith battled under a cover for several laps before Mullen finally broke lose a started to close on the leader.   

Entering turn 3 on lap 10, Mullen sped into the lead using the inside line and then could not hold the car down, sliding up across  Wilson.  Mullen was able to collect the cars and was the leader on lap 10.   Once in front, Mullen pulled away from the pack to record his first feature win at Seymour since May 30, 2010.   Mahlik took the runner up finish with Wilson  holding on for the third place finish.    Chad Bartel, Mike Wedelstadt and Smith rounded out the top six.

Trevor Spaulding ld the opening lap of the 4 Cylinder main before Harley Diedrick powered by on the inside and set out to hide from the pack.       A lone caution slowed the pace on lap 5 and point leader, Cody Hungerford was right behind Diedrick for the restart.   Looking more like a veteran than a rookie, Diedrick held his line and was able to fend off all challengers to collect his first career feature victory.   Brad Prahl was able to take the runner up finish with Hungerford taking third.   Taylor Becher,  Eddie Lemay and Brandon Kaye rounded out the top six.

Joel Schmidt bested the field to collect the Spectator Eliminator trophy.

Next week, August 10, the Legends cars make a appearance at the Seymour Speedway.   Don’t miss the return of the IRA Outlaw Sprints to the 1/3 mile banked oval on Sunday August 17.



20 Lap Feature  l.    Mike Mullen   2. Eric Mahlik  3. Tyler Wilson  4. Chad Bartel   5. Mike Wedelstadt   6. T.J. Smith

8 Lap Heats  First  l. Mullen   2, Wedelstadt

Second   l.  Jay Matthias   2. Jamie Schmidt

                                    COORS LIGHT IMCA STOCK CARS

20 Lap Feature  l. Rod Snellenberger  2. Kyle Frederick  3. Travis Van Straten  4. Jeremy Wiitala   5. Travis Springstroh   6. Chas Van Ooyen

8 Lap Heats  First  l. Josh Mrozkowski  2. Van Straten

Second  l. Frederick   2. Joe Schwister

                                    TURBO BLUE STREET STOCKS

20 Lap Feature  l. Alan Schlueter  2. Lexii Ashcraft  3. Ryan Blank  4. Patty Winkler   5. Jeff Jungwirth   6. Jeff Dorschner

8 Lap Heats  First  l. Jonny Ashcraft   2. Jungwirth

Second  l. Paul Ambrosius   2. George Tabalske

                                                IMCA SPORT MODS

20 Lap Feature  l.  Jeremy Cota   2. Beau Handschke  3. Lucas Lamberies   4. Jessi Ness   5. Rod Solem   6. William Edler

8 Lap Heats  First  l. Handschke   2. Edler

Second  l. Lamberies   2. Jordan Tuyls

                                                4 CYLINDER

15 Lap Feature  l  Harley Diedrick   2. Brad Prahl  3. Cody Hungerford   4. Taylor Becher   5. Eddie Lemay  6. Brandon Kaye

8 Lap Heats  First  l. Prahl  2. Diedrick

Second  l. Cody Hungerford   2. Dean DeKeyser


Login Form