Saturday, March 25, 2017
Text Size

Seymour August 10 results

Seymour – August 10- An absolutely perfect night greeted drivers and fans to Van’s Hi-Way Auto night at the Seymour Speedway, and the racing action  left no doubt that Seymour is the place to be for close, exciting weekly racing.

The track was smooth and fast with 102 cars, including a field of 20 INEX Legends, putting on a very competitive night of racing.  

The IMCA Sport Mods were out of the chute first with Bill Edler pacing the opeing 2 laps before Beau Handschke took charge and started to open a lead of the field.   Edler, Rod Solem, Bruce Belland, Rob Thiel and Jessi Ness were battling for the runner up spot early.  

By the mid point, Handschke was several car lengths to the good while Solem and point leader, Jeremy Cota were racing for second.   It took til lap 15 for Cota to wrestle the runner up spot from Solem and set out to run down the leader. 

Handschke was running the outside line with Cota using the inside line and quickly started to close in on the leader.   With the white flag on display, Cota was scorred as the leader by a bumper and over the final; lap, Cota was able to pull ahead and steal the feature win from Hanschke for the second  week in a row.   Solem was third with Belland in fourth.   Lucas Lamberies and J.J. Andersen rounded out the top six.   The win by Cota was his third of the season and second straight victory and helped pad his point lead entering the final couple point races.

George Tabalske grabbed the lead in the Turbo Blue Street Stock feature at the start and opened a lead while the rest of the field sorted out behind.   Paul Ambrosius, Alan Schlueter, Lexii Ashcraft, point leader, Jeff Jungwirth and Ryan Blank were running together for the runner up spot.  Aschcraft moved into the runner up spot on lap 8 and set ouit to catch the leader while the rest of the pack stayed bunched running for third.  

By lap 12, Ashcraft had found the rear bumper of the leaders car and after 2 more circuits worked by on the inside to take the top spot.    Once in front, Ashcraft started to open her own lead and outran the rest of the field to claim her second feature win this season.    Blank was able to get by Schluter on the final lap to take the runner up cah with Schlueter taking third.   Patty Winkler ran to another top 4 finish with Tabalske taking fifth and Jungwirth sixth.

Tyler Wilson set the pace early in the Budweiser IMCA Modified headliner with Travis Spaulding, Jay Matthias, T.J. Smith, Chad Bartel and Eric Arneson behind.

Matthias spun up to the wall in turn 3 on lap 5 to bring out the lone caution of the race.    On the restart, point leader, Jason Czarapata , was able to move into the runner up spot and set his sights on Wilson,    Wilson was running the outside line to perfection and Czarapata was using his preferred inside line.   It took six laps for Czarapata to pull even with the leader and that was the start of a great 7 lap, side by side race to the finish.   Czarapata was scored as the leader a couple laps, but Wilson stormed back and the side by side race lasted to the finish.   Czarapata ran the 1st two corners the best, and Wilson was strongest out of turn four, to maintain the lead.   Wilson did not look like a division rookie, but woiuld not give into the defending 2 time and current point leader, Czarapata.

Under the white flag, Wilson was inches ahead at the line and they swapped the lead over the final lap.   Wilson again found bite up high and was able to collect his first career Mod feature win by a foot at the finish line.  Matthias recorded the third place finish with Eric Mahlik, Bartel and Brad Lautenbach rounding out the top six.

A 27 car Coors Light IMCA Stock Car field was trimmed to 20 for the main event with Travis Springstroh grabbing the lead early until Kyle Frederick took charge on lap 3.   A couple of cautions on lap 5 and 6 bunched the field with Larry Karcz, Jr, Rod Snellenberger, Bill Kelsey, and Chas Van Ooyen Behind.

On the restart, Snellenberger was able to take the lead from Frederich and opened a lead as Frederich, Barry Van Straten, Kelsey and Van Ooyen and John Heinz raced for the runner up spot.

With the race action intense, there were three cautions on laps 14, 16 and 18, which kept the field bunched.     Just before the final caution, John Heinz moved into second and was able to work up Snellenberger’s bumper.     The final caution set up a three lap dash to the finish with arch rivals, Snellenberger and Heinz, at the post.   Snellenberger was running up a groove and Heinz was hugging the inside line.    Te pair went back and forth with Snellenberger able to take the victory by a bumper over Heinz.     Van Ooyen, Van Straten, Frederich and Jason Bork rounded out the top six.

The win gives Hot Rod his 3rd win of the season here and runs his track all time total to 62.  More importantly, is runs his career total to 199.

Brad Prahl grabbed the lead in the 4 Cylinder main at the start followed by Harley Diedrick, Cody Hungerford, Tyler Huingerford and Jeff Behm.

Despite a mid race caution that brought the field to his rear bumper and heavy pressure from point leader, Cody Hungerfors. Prahl was able to lead from flag to flag to collect his first ever Seymour feature flag.  Cody  Hungerford was able to hold of Diedrick and Tyler Hungerford for the runner up spot with Taylor Becher and Branden Kaye rounding out the top six.

The INEX Legends feature was won by Joe Bongiorno.

Next week August 17th, the decibel reading will increase as the Outlaw IRA Sprint Cars return to the Seymour Speedway for the first time since 2008.   They will join the five weekly divisions for a big night of action on the 1/3 mile banked Oval.   

IRA will hot lap and qualify at 5:30 with racing at 6 PM.

The Seymour Speedway is a featured member track of, a website dedicated to bringing fans the best possible coverage of local Short track racing.


                                                BUDWEISER IMCA MODIFIEDS

 20 Lap Feature  l  Tyler Wilson   2. Jason Czarapata  3. Jay Matthias   4. Eric Mahlik   5. Chad Bartel   6. Brad Lautenbach

8 Lap Heats  First  l. Wilson  2. Czarapata 

Second  l. Travis Spaulding   2. Bartel

`                                               COORS LIGHT IMCA STOCK CARS

20 Lap Feature  l. Rod Snellenberger  2. John Heinz   3. Chas Van ooyen, Jr   4. Barry Van Straten   5. Kyle Frederick   6. Jason Bork

10 Lap Consy  l. Josh Mzoczkowski  2. Jerry Leary   3. Trent Nolan  4. Jake Lunderby

8 Lap Heats  First  l. Barry Van Straten  2. Snellenberger

Second  l. Heinz   2. Larry Karcz, Jr

Third  l. Travis Van Straten   2. Travis Springstroh

                                    TURBO BLUE STREET STOCKS

20 Lap Feature  l. Lexii Ashcraft   2. Ryan Blank  3. Alan Schlueter  4. Patty Winkler   5. George Tabalske   6. Jeff Jungwirth

8 Lap Heat 1. Tabalske   2. Paul Ambrosius

                                                IMCA SPORT MODS

20 Lap Feature  l. Jeremy Cota   2, Beau Handschke  3. Rod Solem   4. Bruce Belland   5. Lucas Lamberies   6. J.J. Andersen

8 Lap Heats  First  l. Bellland   2. Cota

Second  l. Handschke   2. Lamberies

                                                4 CYLINDER

15 Lap feature  l. Brad PrahL   2. Cody Hungerford   3. Harley Diedrick   4. Tyler Hungerford  5. Taylor Gecher   6. Brandon Kaye

8 Lap Heat  l. Prahl   2, Diedrich

Login Form